Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This recipe was sooo delicious. Best bean chili I ever ate! I spiced it up a bit more with some paprika, and I added some fresh cilantro near the end. The cilantro gave it a wonderful flavour. I also included celery and a can of red kidney beans with the other ingredients. I too was skeptical of the puree'ing part at first, but I found it really enhanced the texture. I pureed a bit more than what the recipe indicated. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I left out the chicken broth and used frozen corn and I didn't have a jalapeno pepper, so I added some ground cayene. Also added some garlic. This was so good, I probably won't ever go back to chili with meat! I served it with corn bread on the side. Even my husband, the meat eater, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
MMMMMMM, yummy! This was even better a couple of days later as leftovers after the jalepenos had time to "set".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was so so good. I had a TON of black beans to use up and this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Very good vegetarian meal. Didn't miss not having meat. Sub vegetable broth if chicken broth is an issue. I served this over wild rice. What a tasty, healthy meal. I will make this again! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Just perfect!!! Only changes I made were to add a couple more cans of black beans and used one whole small (14 oz.) can of chicken broth. I just simmered it down for a couple hours or however long until it got to the consistency I like. I didn’t bother pureeing any of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Great! I made some changes. I didn't sautee the veggies because I used the crockpot. I just dumped everything in the crock pot. I used canned corn. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes instead of fresh. As directed, I pureed 1.5 cups, but later I ended up pureeing another 2 cups. Without pureeing this is a soup recipe. When you puree, the dish thickens up and becomes chili. Next time I would probably puree at least 4 cups. I cooked it on high for 4.5 hours. This turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was not bad. I like the addition of the mushrooms to add a meaty texture. There were a couple of changes I made due to not having all the ingredients. I used less tomatoes, added red pepper flakes instead of the jalapeno, and added water with a tablespoon of tomato pasta for the broth. If I make this again I will used veggie broth to make it vegan. Not a bad recipe. It will be better tomorrow as it sits and the flavors meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrooklynKyler
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I have made this with fresh ingredients, as well as frozen and canned. No matter what, it is always amazing! Hearty, healthy, and very filling. I've used a can of Rotel to take the place of the jalapeno if I don't have one. I can't say enough good things about this recipe!! I'd give it 10 stars if I could :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynKyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
FANTASTIC !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krayzie4him

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States