Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Very tasty. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is a great recipe. I did add some lentils to this as well. However, I added on secret ingredient that put this over the top--a packet of hot chocolate mix. Sounds wierd, but the chocolate and the little bit of sweet really set off the other ingredients. I served this topped with cashews (also wierd, but once you try it you will be hooked!!), shredded cheese and sour cream and have even served it over rice. This is staple party food at my house because it can feed a crowd and is SO tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magpie
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
SOO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Omitting the fungus from this recipe made it much more palatable for me, but other than that... this is a basic black bean chili with the right amount of heat and spice from the jalapeno, chili powder and cumin. Keeping with the meatless theme, this was easily made all-vegetarian with a swap-out of veggie broth for the chicken broth. Left to simmer until thickened eliminated any need for pureeing (thus washing another gadget) and made the perfect topper for crispy tostadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This deserves 4.5 stars in my opinion! LOVED this! I made it from my cabinets, without shopping extra. SO, had to make a few changes, either for personal taste (no mushrooms, I know, but no! And yellow & red peppers, no jalapeno (didn't have)! It was GREAT! LOVED the corn, don't usually add corn to chili, where've I been? lol. Didn't add the chicken broth as I like my chili a little chunkier rather than soupy like, and it was cooking up great without the extra liquid. The spices were just right! Thanks JANED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gibson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Good, tasty recipe for no meat chili. Did not add the corn and added double mushrooms and tomatoes (personal preference). Will definitely make again and try different chili peppers to kick up the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Loved it, however, 1 TBSP of chili powder is not even close to enough. I think I put about 6 in.. I like spicy chili flavored chili! Yummy though... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Great Recipe! Next time we make it, I'll add some ground turkey or chicken! Great flavor! Makes lots of left overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Just made this tonight. Very tasty. I did add 1 sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I had only given this 4 stars before, but after making it a second time, I had to change my rating to 5 stars. This time around, I started the onions before the other ingredients, so they were thoroughly cooked. Then, while the onions were cooking, I chopped and added the remaining veggies in order. After adding the corn, I let it simmer for 10 minutes. Everything cooked perfectly. I also added more tomato. Unless you can find big plum tomatoes, I recommend using more than 6. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reeders, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States