Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
One word: Wow! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
It's not a Texas chili as in greasy and beef - it's better. I'm picky so I left out the peppers and mushroom and added celery. I threw the vegetables in a food processor before cooking. Also, instead of chili powder - I used adobe chipotle peppers - great! Adds so much flavor and just the right amount of spice without overwhelming the rest. I also added 1 lb ground beef to stretch it further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very good chili recipe. I followed the directions almost exactly except that I used baby portabello mushrooms (a good idea), and yellow pepper (no jalepeno). Did not puree. Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This was delicious! My very carnivorous husband made it all the way through a bowl before looking at me, quite puzzled, and exclaiming that there was no meat! He then helped himself to another bowl. :) I made just a few changes: Substituted a can of green chiles for the jalapeno and used 2 cans of mexican spiced diced tomatoes instead of fresh. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess2334

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This was an OK recipe - sorry. We didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Fugate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
delicious and hearty! didn't miss the meat at all. i will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I tweaked this recipe a bit and loved it! I replaced the mushrooms with a zucchini, and used a can of white kidney (cannelloni) beans and one of black. I also used one red bell pepper and one poblano. Finally, I simmered it for at least an extra 20 mins to thicken it and it turned out great. Even my 6 yrcold daughter loved it. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This is my first time reviewing because I just HAD to write how good this was. This is really great as a vegetarian option with Vegetable broth! It was DELICIOUS! It was a bit spicy for my "Salt-is-spicy" tastebuds...but that's an easy change in spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I invited my carnivorous family over when I made this and got rave reviews! This really is an excellent chili. I made a few minor adjustments: I added 3 cloves of garlic, used frozen corn as fresh wasn't available and to save a couple bucks I used a large can of diced romas, drained and gave them a rough chop. Also, as some of the reviews here have said the cumin is a little strong, but using a good pinch more of the chili powder really balanced it out. The only thing I would do differently next time is add more mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Super yummy! I made this several times and many of these times I didn't have all the ingredients ready: one time I skipped the corn, other times I put double qty of mushrooms because I had to use them, another time I used tomato paste instead of fresh tomatoes... Sometimes fresh, other times all frozen ingredients, it came out great every single time. It became a regular in our home. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States