Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I've made this so many times now I almost don't have to look at the recipe. This is THE BEST soup I have ever made. Its healthy and low calorie and DELICIOUS! I change some things to our taste like adding more jalapenos and using 1 red and 1 green bell pepper...we also usually use vegetable broth to make it vegetarian just to surprise people! People always say OH MY GOSH whats IN this?! Cook it. You'll love it. And you wont get fat. :) And btw its fine without the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Amazing! This is our favorite chili recipe! I omit the mushrooms and use homemade canned tomatoes and frozen corn. Still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Not bad! Prep was tedious but the rest was super easy. It was tasty but missing "something". I served it over rice with cheddar. The worchestire sauce may have been a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knoxdogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Loved it. The only thing I did different was I left the corn out because I don't particularly like it in chili and I added vegetarian crumbles (like ground beef) and substituted green chilies for the jalapeno pepper because I didn't have any in stock right now. I topped it with shredded Monteray Jack cheese, chopped onion and sour cream and served it with fresh baked French Bread and it was great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sc B. McKinney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Hmm. I thought this was just okay. I'm beginning to think that I don't really like black bean soups. Hubs thought it was decent, but a little too spicy. I think with less spices, he'd be fine with it. For some reason, me not so much. I did cut down the mushrooms and put in some sliced, canned ones for hubs (I don't like mushrooms). I didn't have corn and although I'd planned on getting some on my way home, I didn't end up stopping bc I was running late. Maybe I'll try again and experiment with the ingredients. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SheCanCook
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
No corn this time, but big chunky bites of all the other vegetables. After browning the meat I put everything in a slow cooker and three hours later it was still a little soupy but DELICIOUS, so I thought maybe I shouldn't have added the extra can of tomato sauce!! HOWEVER the next morning the chili had thickened perfectly. Now the family has dinner and lunch for a couple days! Great cold weather recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheCanCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
My husband actually liked this and he doesn't do no meat generally. Added 2 cloves of minced garlic and 1 tsp extra of cumin. Will add 2 tsp extra of cumin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This is very good! I've made it twice now & have loved it both times. I haven't made any revisions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaelynnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
One of my favorites dinner. I let it get thick and use it as a taco filling and top with sour cream and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Awesome taste. Left out the jalepeno though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States