Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Very good and very easy. A little too spicy for me though. I think next time I'll cut back on the chili pepper. I served it over cornbread and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
As a US student studying in Norway for a year, I promised my scandinavian friends some good american chili. I chose to make it without meat because of its high cost here. Of course, because I had never made chili before, I turned to this site. We all agreed that it turned out quite well. I changed but a few things based on availability and cost differences here (no jalapeno or broth, used canned tomatoes and corn, substituted one can black beans with red salad beans, added zucchini, garlic and carrots), and it turned out great. It was perhaps a bit too spicy for the average person, but I liked it just fine, and my international friends were impressed. I think it is not quite 8 servings though. I fed 5 other people and had just a small bowl leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
This was soooo good! Not only does it look pretty, but it tastes fantastic! Fresh and spicy as my husband and I both like it. Of course if you want it mild you just omit the hot peppers. I followed the recipe as directed and used only fresh ingredients and wouldn't change a thing! I was so hooked on the taste that I ate it all day long and was wanting more when it was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
The perfect balace of spices. Is awesome w/ fresh vegtables or canned. A very healthy choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
Absolutely wonderful flavor. I served it over couscous with a little grated cheese and we couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Fortel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I operate several Community Kitchens projects and have done this recipe with each of them. It has been a huge hit. No changes necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
This chili recipe is fantastic. My only problem with this recipe is that we didn't make a double batch (it did not make 8 servings for us). You will not miss the meat at all if you make this chili. Thank you for a 'keeper' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This is an awesome recipe. I will admit that if you do not care for spicy hot, this recipe may be better if you leave out the hot peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
My husband -- NOT a lover of meatless dinners -- raved about this chili! I served it with pico de gallo and sour cream as a garnish. Yum! It's a great alternative to our typical beef chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
My husband doesn't like black beans and he LOVED this chili!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Hott Fischrup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States