Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Loved this recipe! Very hearty and tasty. Was even better the next day. I used canned diced tomatoes. Next time I will use the mexican spiced diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
How lucky to get this in my Allrecipes email of the day. It is terrific! I followed another reviewer's advice and used 1 can diced tomatoes and 1 can diced tomatoes with green chilies, instead of fresh tomatoes. Didn't change anything else. Can't wait to have it for leftovers. I think it will taste even better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HATSOFF2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
Yummy and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
I sauteed a little garlic with the vegetables in the beginning. I also used 1 red bell pepper, eliminated the jalapeno pepper, chopped the mushrooms into small chunks because they were large, used frozen corn niblets, and only used 1/2 tsp. of cumin. I didn't bother pureeing some of the chili either. It was tasty as chili, especially with some shredded cheddar as a topping. Another time though when I reheated it, I added an extra cup of chicken broth to the leftovers as well as some cooked brown rice. I think I actually preferred it this way as a yummy black bean soup. Of course, when adding more liquid, you can adjust the seasoning to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This is very good. The only thing I did different was to add garlic powder and green chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Halved the recipe as was only cooking for 2 but wished I hadn't! Can't cook without garlic so added 2 minced cloves. Also mixed in some fresh cilantro just before serving which gave it that extra special something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
The best Black Bean Chili I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
This is delicious! Don't let all the fresh ingrediants discourage you from trying it. I have made this seveal times now, but I use canned corn and tomatoes and it tastes great! I use one can if diced tomatoes, and one can of Mexican tomatoes and chilis (instead of the jalapeno). I serve it with cheese quesadillas. Yum! It's kinda like the Tex-Mex version of tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches. I garnish with sour cream and chopped red onion. The first time I made this I thought the step where you puree half of it was strange, but it really adds to the texture. Don't skip this step if you can! I have actually done that to some other dishes since then, it's a good trick. Really beefs it up. This is a wholesome, hearty meal, a good change from the tradional chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
This recipe is hearty and tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
I have made this a few times and we all enjoy it. I didn't add the jalapeno as some don't like it hot. We will continue to enjoy it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States