Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
The best Black Bean Chili I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
This is delicious! Don't let all the fresh ingrediants discourage you from trying it. I have made this seveal times now, but I use canned corn and tomatoes and it tastes great! I use one can if diced tomatoes, and one can of Mexican tomatoes and chilis (instead of the jalapeno). I serve it with cheese quesadillas. Yum! It's kinda like the Tex-Mex version of tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches. I garnish with sour cream and chopped red onion. The first time I made this I thought the step where you puree half of it was strange, but it really adds to the texture. Don't skip this step if you can! I have actually done that to some other dishes since then, it's a good trick. Really beefs it up. This is a wholesome, hearty meal, a good change from the tradional chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
This recipe is hearty and tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
I have made this a few times and we all enjoy it. I didn't add the jalapeno as some don't like it hot. We will continue to enjoy it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Very good and very easy. A little too spicy for me though. I think next time I'll cut back on the chili pepper. I served it over cornbread and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
As a US student studying in Norway for a year, I promised my scandinavian friends some good american chili. I chose to make it without meat because of its high cost here. Of course, because I had never made chili before, I turned to this site. We all agreed that it turned out quite well. I changed but a few things based on availability and cost differences here (no jalapeno or broth, used canned tomatoes and corn, substituted one can black beans with red salad beans, added zucchini, garlic and carrots), and it turned out great. It was perhaps a bit too spicy for the average person, but I liked it just fine, and my international friends were impressed. I think it is not quite 8 servings though. I fed 5 other people and had just a small bowl leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
This was soooo good! Not only does it look pretty, but it tastes fantastic! Fresh and spicy as my husband and I both like it. Of course if you want it mild you just omit the hot peppers. I followed the recipe as directed and used only fresh ingredients and wouldn't change a thing! I was so hooked on the taste that I ate it all day long and was wanting more when it was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
The perfect balace of spices. Is awesome w/ fresh vegtables or canned. A very healthy choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
Absolutely wonderful flavor. I served it over couscous with a little grated cheese and we couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oak Creek Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I operate several Community Kitchens projects and have done this recipe with each of them. It has been a huge hit. No changes necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States