Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Great stuff! I took the advice of others and used two cans of Del Monte mexican spiced tomatoes. And since the people I'm cooking this for aren't big mushroom fans, I took them out to put on the side after it was done cooking. Excellent recipe. I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I thought this recipe was very good, but it definately needed some more spice. I added a lot more chili powder and some cocoa powder. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes (next time I will use tomato sauce instead because my husband did not like the chunks), frozen corn, and used only one can of beans. I also added hamburger. I topped it off with some sour cream and cheddar cheese. I served it with jalapeno bread with melted cheese on top. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
This soup was awsome. The flavors blend together really welland the presentation is beautiful. What a great way to use all those fresh fall vegetables. We added some leftover grilled chicken, yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Excellent recipe! Easy too, I add a touch more chili powder for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Great recipe. We served it over a bed of shredded lettuce, with shredded Mozza on top. Our son-in-law added tobasco sauce at the table. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Loved this recipe! Very hearty and tasty. Was even better the next day. I used canned diced tomatoes. Next time I will use the mexican spiced diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
How lucky to get this in my Allrecipes email of the day. It is terrific! I followed another reviewer's advice and used 1 can diced tomatoes and 1 can diced tomatoes with green chilies, instead of fresh tomatoes. Didn't change anything else. Can't wait to have it for leftovers. I think it will taste even better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HATSOFF2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
Yummy and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
I sauteed a little garlic with the vegetables in the beginning. I also used 1 red bell pepper, eliminated the jalapeno pepper, chopped the mushrooms into small chunks because they were large, used frozen corn niblets, and only used 1/2 tsp. of cumin. I didn't bother pureeing some of the chili either. It was tasty as chili, especially with some shredded cheddar as a topping. Another time though when I reheated it, I added an extra cup of chicken broth to the leftovers as well as some cooked brown rice. I think I actually preferred it this way as a yummy black bean soup. Of course, when adding more liquid, you can adjust the seasoning to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This is very good. The only thing I did different was to add garlic powder and green chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States