Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Excellent! I made it slightly less spicy by eliminating the jalapenos and decreased the cayenne so the kids would eat it. They enjoyed it with bread and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This is a great vegitarian chili. I make it for meat eaters and they always say they don't miss the meat. I made it as is and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I made this last night and we loved it. I used diced tomatoes and canned corn like in previous reviews. I didn't have a jalapeno pepper, so used 2 serranos instead. I didn't think this was very spicy, so if you like it spicy, I would add some extry spices. This will be made again in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This recipe has potential to be a 5-star. I feel it just needs a little tweeking. I used canned mushrooms instead of fresh, a can of tomatoes with green chilis instead of fresh romas, and a can of sweet crunch corn. These are items that I keep stocked all the time. I put the chili over corn bread instead of rice, as I didn't like the idea of rice and chili. This recipe was loved by my whole family (including my 'meat and potatoes' father.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
It was absolutely delicous! I omitted the mushrooms. I forgot to put the diced tomaotes in but it was still awesome! I used dry beans (12 ounces) and put them in the pressure cooker with water to soften them up. Stabalized the pressure and cooked for 20 minutes. Let it sit for 10 minutes and then removed beans from the pressure cooker. They grow to 32 oz of beans after the soak. After that I just followed the instructions as listed. Depending on how much stuff you put in there, you just adjust the amount of chicken broth. I used 1 3/4 cups. And I omitted the jalapeno pepper, its spicy enough as is. Also added a little garlic powder and a bay leaf. The puree step is definateley worth it, gives a very nice appearance. (I just used my blender).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Very good, especially for as healthy as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I made it as a black Bean veggie turkey burrito. Eliminated the chicken stock and mushrooms. I took the suggestion to add frozen corn and canned diced tomatoes/also diced my cooked slices of turkey breast which was in my freezer. Served it on a heated tortilla shell(microwave 30 seconds individually)shredded cheese on top. I was feeding teenagers and so I didn't spice it up. They loved it. Healthy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Great base. I used canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh, 1 can garbanzos and 1 can black beans, omitted the mushrooms, added frozen corn and fresh coined carrots, and once at the end I added browned ground turkey. It would be delicious with anything you add to it! The mushrooms just don't add much to it, they're not needed. And I love a lot of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sea Cliff, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This was a hit at a Halloween party last night! Based on fellow reviewers' recommendations, I made it two days in advance, which gave the flavors a chance to meld well. I used a 32 oz can of tomatoes, 1 can of corn, no mushrooms, and vegetable broth instead of chicken broth (I'm vegetarian). I left out the jalapeno pepper in lieu of 1 teaspoon of chili powder, which in and of itself gave it heat!! I can't imagine adding 1 TABLESPOON of chili powder to this dish (as the recipe says) without being near a fire station to extinguish the flames! :) Definitely be careful with the chili powder. Luckily, I had bread, sour cream, cheese, and green onions on hand to temper the heat. Delicious, and SO easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Fun to make and eat. Does freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States