Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
We love this recipe because it has a chicken broth base versus tomato base. I leave out the mushrooms and on occassion will add left over chicken meat. Everyone asks for the recipe and it is always a hit! I usually double the ingredients as it disappears all too quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I loved this recipe!! I am a vegetarian so I changed the chicken broth to veggie broth and I thought it would be good to add in some veggie ground round which it was, it tasted just like real meat chili. I also changed the chili powder to cayenne pepper which made it much spicier ( if you want to do this I suggest 1/2 Tablespoon because a full tablespoon made it extremly hot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
We liked it, but had to add more cumin, chili powder and jalapenos to get it as spicy as we normally like our chili. We also added some ground hamburger to make it into a meal, so we decided not to puree half of it. I will definitely make it again as the weather gets colder. It's great comfort food - very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I absolutely love this stuff but I really like Mexican food so if you're not one for mexican dishes I would not recommend this one. I did not use the jalapeno in the dish either times because I found it to be spicey enough without it. I used it over rice with cheddar cheese on top and tortilla chips for an added crunch and it was so good! My husband liked it but he did not love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I think I added way too much chili powder to compensate for no cumin.warning if you're thinking of doing the same! It was great though not a total burst of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARLEESMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in IL
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
We liked this chili very much - even my five year old ate it (I didn't cut back on the jalepeno or chili powder - we didn't find it too spicy at all). I served it with cornbread on the side. I think if I were to make this again, I'd use canned ingredients because it was VERY time consuming to use all fresh. It did taste good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Amazing! Love this recipe... very easy, very simple. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This is an excellent recipe that my husband and I loved. It tastes so fresh and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jcrossy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This was a good recipe. Prepare to do a lot of chopping if you go with all fresh vegetables like I did. I used half of the jalopeno pepper, but will probably use more next time. I will probably use less chicken broth next time as well. I tend to like it a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This was outstanding! I even had to change it around a little, and it was so good. I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh (2 14 oz cans) and omitted the mushrooms and jalepeno. I added some chopped carrots and a dash of cayenne pepper. I used frozen super sweet white corn, which gave it a delicious sweetness. I didn't add any salt because of the canned tomatoes. Served with a little bit of sour cream, some tortilla chips, and whole-wheat quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States