Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Wonderful and quite low in fat!!! We made it just the way it said(I used pork tenderloin because it was on sale and virtually fat free). I figure, if it is good like it is and that easy (I have 3 children under 5) then it is a winner in my house. I threw it all in the Crockpot within minutes and 7 hours later we were enjoying our dinner. I put 2% cheese, low fat sour cream and green onions on top. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Yum! I left out the pork and added a can of corn and some fresh cilantro...it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianAndAli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Only a few minor changes. I doubled the chili powder and cumin. Used one can of black and one of red kidney beans. Also used a hot salsa and added about 1/2 cup chopped celery. Very nice change from the regular chili. I'd say enough for 3 but pushing it for 4 if anyone wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
OMG this is so good! I sauteed the onion and garlic before putting it in the slow cooker. I also used Andouille sausage instead of pork because that is what I had. I used Rotel instead of salsa and slow cooked on high for 5 hours. Perfect amount of spice. I wish I would have doubled the recipe for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was very good... although I didn't realize how spicy it was going to be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is a delicious change from your everyday chili. Try using the Bill Echols taco seasoning from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I omitted the pork to make this vegetarian and it was still tasty and spicy, so I didn't feel I was giving my vegetarian less than a full meal. I served it with brown rice and she was full. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Excellent and quite healthy. Added some flour at the end to thicken a little & more spice to suit our tastes. Served with tortilla chips as recommended. Definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
It was alright. Just was missing something. Not sure what. My husband and I were thinking that perhaps some additional tomato would help or the addition of some kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was really great! The pork was so tender. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States