Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
yum yum yum i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was very good... although I didn't realize how spicy it was going to be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Was pretty good if I make it again I would use only 1 can of black beans and add an extra can of diced tomatoes. Also it says it makes 4 servings but it easily makes 6 servings. Not very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
OMG this is so good! I sauteed the onion and garlic before putting it in the slow cooker. I also used Andouille sausage instead of pork because that is what I had. I used Rotel instead of salsa and slow cooked on high for 5 hours. Perfect amount of spice. I wish I would have doubled the recipe for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Wonderful and quite low in fat!!! We made it just the way it said(I used pork tenderloin because it was on sale and virtually fat free). I figure, if it is good like it is and that easy (I have 3 children under 5) then it is a winner in my house. I threw it all in the Crockpot within minutes and 7 hours later we were enjoying our dinner. I put 2% cheese, low fat sour cream and green onions on top. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Loved it! Very easy and lots of flavor. I used a 1lb package of Boneless Pork Tenerloin that was pre-marinated in Black Peppercorn available at grocery store. I down sized recipe for 2 people and enough for 3-4 servings. Served with a nice tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I omitted the pork to make this vegetarian and it was still tasty and spicy, so I didn't feel I was giving my vegetarian less than a full meal. I served it with brown rice and she was full. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Only a few minor changes. I doubled the chili powder and cumin. Used one can of black and one of red kidney beans. Also used a hot salsa and added about 1/2 cup chopped celery. Very nice change from the regular chili. I'd say enough for 3 but pushing it for 4 if anyone wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Yum! I left out the pork and added a can of corn and some fresh cilantro...it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianAndAli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Got nothing but compliments with this! I doubled the recipe, as I needed more than 4 servings, but I can tell you, this recipe (with out doubling) will feed 6 easily and we are big eaters! Doubling it filled my crock pot to the brim! The only change I mad was to add a can of corn. I also used a can of pork, and made up the rest with cubed pork steaks. Thanks for the recipe! I WILL make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Underwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States