Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was very quick to throw together, great taste. I used only 1 can of black beans; served with cheese and sour cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Eliminate the garlic & use Chipotle Chili Powder - so much better. Haven't tried it but a can of corn added to this will go into the next batch. I don't put raw meat into a soup in the crockpot since I don't trust it getting to temp to be 'safe' so I cube the loin and brown/cook it in bacon fat before adding to the rest. Started the vegetables the night before on low & added the meat in the morning for a noon meal. The house smelled divine in the morning & the flavors were well blended by noon. Served with corn muffins & honey butter - a very satisfying meal on a cold March day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
If I could have given this one six stars I would have!! My family loved it. I followed the directions and would not change a thing. I put everything in the slow cooker before I went to bed and had my dinner ready when I got up in the morning. Just cooled and refrigerated it before I left for work and warmed it up at mealtime. This one will definately go in the recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
We loved this. I sautéed the onion, pepper and garlic in 1tbs canola oil. We used lean pork steaks and cubed them and topped the chili with fresh lime juice, fresh cilantro, shredded cheese and low fat sour cream. It was fantastic! We used a mild salsa, so the crushed red pepper did not make this dish too spicy. It added just enough oomph to the dish and my 10 yr old still loved it. For people who felt it was too spicy, I suspect they used a medium or hot salsa. This is going to be a regular dish in our dinner rotation. I really think the toppings you add are what make this dish pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
My fiance loves this chili. I've made it for him several times. I love black beans and I enjoy having pork instead of the typical beef or chicken chilis I usually make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I cannot say enough about is recipe! I'd been using the same tried and true recipe for over 12 years and was getting bored with it. I found this one and tried it...OMG!!!! it is by far the BEST chili i have ever had. the only adjustments i made was to add pickled jalepino peppers and i cooked it on the stove, simmering it for 1 1/2 hours. the pork melts in your mouth...yummy...i will use this always!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Made this for a family gathering tonight. Doubled it. Everyone really loved it. Great flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Who knew chili would be better with black beans. I substituted the pork with ground turkey, added corn, and did 1/2 tsp of chili powder and 1/2 tsp of cayenne. I also added in a bit of oregano. It came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe, really simple to make. I think it has just enough kick, but is not too spicy. I doubled the recipe, used a 3 lb. pork loin, cut into 1/2 inch pieces. Also, instead of 4 cans of black beans, I used 3 cans and 1 can of low-sodium corn. At the very end, I added about a cup of rice to thicken it. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
We really loved this. Would probably add more meat next time. Sooo simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wayback007

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Monmouth, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States