Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I will make this again like others I used canned beans rinsed and drained. I had made a spicy rice and pork chop so the blandness of this dish worked well with my dinner however the next time more seasonings will be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This smelled WONDERFUL. We really were expecting it to taste as good. I had added salt before baking, but even with that, it was still very bland. I followed the recipe very closely. My boys and I decided it's edible, but we won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I made these on the stove top. They were ok, but really boring. I suppose we are just used to black beans with jalapeno, lime juice, cilantro, cumin etc. Would make again but only with these adjustments. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This is a fantastic meal in one and the taste is amazing. I have made this several times and my husband who is a "junk food" eater actually started requesting it. Its heart healthy and diet friendly and has lots of fiber, with a dollop of light sour cream its a fantastic breakfast for us to switch up from oatmeal or egg whites and potatoes obrien.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Good - but needed some jazzin up. I used rinsed can black beans and kept vegetables crisp- added cheese and sour cream and it was great. Used this as a dip also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
You can add any crunchy veges - like i added bell peppers - this is great and healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This dish tasted even better when reheated rather then just out of the oven. I enjoyed it but my hubby did not care for it to much. It packs well for the lunchbox.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Not bad just bland. I wouldn't add the carrots or celery until the baking time. We ended up using this as a filler for our halibut tacos. Too time consuming. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
My husband and I really liked this casserole. My 3 year old ate it too. I used canned black beans and skipped all the long soaking and cooking times. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
Whole family loved it, 4 year old on up! Very tasty good with everything and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States