Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Hello All: I added one large egg and 3/4 cup of cornmeal. It made it easier to control the patties. I put them on a cookie sheet using parchment paper, then I sprayed a little pam on each pattie. I baked them on 350 for about 30 minutes they came out wonderful and I cut the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This is delicious. I used canned black beans and needed to add some bread crumbs in order to roll into balls. I put them in a tortilla with some tomato and sour cream and had as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
These were good. For those of you whose cakes fell apart, your oil probably wasn't hot enough. Tip: when you think the oil is heated in the skillet, toss in a pinch of flour, if it sizzles, then it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I don't know if it was the canned beans I used or if the recipe's ingredients failed to bind the cakes together. ? They were even too sticky to come off the wax paper (as recipe indicated to press between). They fell apart turning and I did not like the texture much. I think it would have been better if the beans were not mixed until smooth, but instead left a little "chunky". The spices used had a very good flavor and a creamy sauce is an excellent accompaniement to the black bean flavor- but the sauce was quite plain. I made another batch of sauce blending roasted red peppers, heavy cream and cayenne pepper;liked it much better. I would try again, only to see if dried beans binded better and with a more flavorful sauce. sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
The cakes were very tasty, but way to soft. It was very hard to turn them over in the pan. I added 2 tsp of cornmeal to the mix, but next time I'll also add 1 egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
The taste was good, and the sauce fine. My patties didn't fall apart, but they didn't really seem to cook, either. They only formed the most barely perceptible crust, and were still completely soft inside, even though I had them in the pan for nearly 10 minutes. Not sure what went wrong - the oil should definitely have been hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
Really tasty! I used canned beans and they came out a little soft, but I'll definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
When people say these cakes fall apart if you follow the recipe, they must really mean it. I'm usually good at pattie recipes so I thought I could make them work, but the consistency was wasn't right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I had black bean cakes for the first time recently. They were so good, I decided to give them a try. This recipe would have been better if they added some sort of "paste" such as cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I did not make the sauce for the top so it was vegan. I didnt have fresh cilantro and was excited to try it so i did this. 3/4 cup masked black beans, 1/4 cup chopped onion, 1/2 tbl minced garlic, dash chili pepper, dash cayenne, 1 tsp dried cilantro,and 1/2 tsp cumin. Then i cut prtion in half and made into balls. After that i squished them lightly so it was about 2 inches across and 1 1/2 inches tall. They didnt fall apart this way and they were soooo good! Thank you for this amazing idea. Im going to make them into "meat"balls. Also if you have problems with stickyness its because your beans are too wet. They need to be very drained and dont use canned, those are slimy and gross. Plus its cheaper to do it yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States