Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
Really tasty! I used canned beans and they came out a little soft, but I'll definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This is delicious. I used canned black beans and needed to add some bread crumbs in order to roll into balls. I put them in a tortilla with some tomato and sour cream and had as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I don't know if it was the canned beans I used or if the recipe's ingredients failed to bind the cakes together. ? They were even too sticky to come off the wax paper (as recipe indicated to press between). They fell apart turning and I did not like the texture much. I think it would have been better if the beans were not mixed until smooth, but instead left a little "chunky". The spices used had a very good flavor and a creamy sauce is an excellent accompaniement to the black bean flavor- but the sauce was quite plain. I made another batch of sauce blending roasted red peppers, heavy cream and cayenne pepper;liked it much better. I would try again, only to see if dried beans binded better and with a more flavorful sauce. sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2004
I made them too big, fell apart in the pan, not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
These were good. For those of you whose cakes fell apart, your oil probably wasn't hot enough. Tip: when you think the oil is heated in the skillet, toss in a pinch of flour, if it sizzles, then it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Hello All: I added one large egg and 3/4 cup of cornmeal. It made it easier to control the patties. I put them on a cookie sheet using parchment paper, then I sprayed a little pam on each pattie. I baked them on 350 for about 30 minutes they came out wonderful and I cut the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
The cakes were very tasty, but way to soft. It was very hard to turn them over in the pan. I added 2 tsp of cornmeal to the mix, but next time I'll also add 1 egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
When people say these cakes fall apart if you follow the recipe, they must really mean it. I'm usually good at pattie recipes so I thought I could make them work, but the consistency was wasn't right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
The taste was good, and the sauce fine. My patties didn't fall apart, but they didn't really seem to cook, either. They only formed the most barely perceptible crust, and were still completely soft inside, even though I had them in the pan for nearly 10 minutes. Not sure what went wrong - the oil should definitely have been hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Like others I felt the consistancy was a little too soft so I added some cornmeal to make them easier to handle. I skipped the cilantro, (not a fan)cut back on the cumin and used canned beans. End result was good and it made a nice healthy lunch. Thank you Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States