Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Liked this recipe a lot, although i did cut back the jalapeño to one ,but found that it wasn't spicy enough so ill add the extra jalapeño next time. Also, i think the liquid smoke is a little to much for this recipe , it has plenty of flavors going on in there without the liquid smoke. Also i used blue cheese instead of gouda because i had black bean burgers at restaurant with it and it was good so i used that. One more thing find some artisan style buns or fresh baked buns they make a big difference in the texture i think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Not a bad recipe. I'm not a big fan of "smoked" foods, but I thought I would try this anyway with the plan of cutting back on the smokiness of it. I just added 1/4 of the measurement suggested for the liquid smoke and got regular gouda instead of smoked gouda. I am glad I did, because it turned out just right. It was noticeably "smoked" without it being overwhelming. If I had put in the full suggested amount of liquid smoke and added smoked gouda to it like the recipe suggested, I don't think I would have like it. I made my own bread crumbs with some "light" bread for higher fiber and fewer calories, and I found that I could form the patties without having to freeze them for an hour. Otherwise, this is a decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Prestage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This is great :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Wow!! Awesome Recipe. Added 1Tbsp veggie broth and soy sauce subtracted the ranch dressing and substituted sharp cheddar for Gouda. These burgers were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Every one loved this recipe. First time I made them according to the recipe. Second time just turned it into a black bean loaf. Even more of a hit. My fil asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beliya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made this recipe and omitted the ranch because I didn't have any, I love black bean burgers but don't care for pre-made. So I make the beans from scratch and follow the recipe as listed. I freeze them to have on hand for when I don't have time to cook. They turn out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I've made a lot of bean burgers and I think this is going to be my standard recipe from now on. No changes needed. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Ok so I made these a few times and I think I found the key to getting the right consistency. I put the beans in a colander and let them sit and drain until all the liquid was out of them. I made the recipe as stated which has very good flavor and just enough spice. I only use one jalepeno since one time I used two and it was too spicy. Also fresh garlic, not from the jar as this adds more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Stumbled onto this recipe while looking for a black bean burger with a little more flavor. Although I did make a few changes (everyone does!), this is a wonderful recipe! First, I smashed my beans rather than using a processor. I prefer the texture this way. I omitted the liquid smoke as I'm not a fan. Instead, I reserved some of the juice from the beans. I added about 1/8 cup to the mixture for consistency. I also substituted panko for bread crumbs, and cut that back to a cup. Lastly, I cooked and added a 1/4 c. quinoa. My jalapeño and onion were cooked with the quinoa, then cooled for a bit before adding to mixture. I had no trouble at all forming these into patties- great consistency. I chilled the mixture in the fridge for about ten minutes while I put my daughter to bed- but it was not necessary to chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States