Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I have a killer sweet tooth and I have to say these are pretty gosh darn good. I experimented a little and found that adding about a teaspoon of baking powder gives a little more cake-like brownie if you prefer that texture. I left out the coffee and I cannot taste any black bean flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
427 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pardonmyfrench

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
UNBELIEVABLE! What a treat! I was trying to get rid of some extra milk chocolate chips when I came across this recipe. I'm always on the lookout for good flour-less recipes, so I was excited to give this a try. My family could not believe these were made out of black beans! We could not taste them at all. Thanks for the fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I've recently been trying to stay away from flour but I love my sweets and chocolate. I didn't have the coffee, but I have a feeling it would have taken the very mild hint of black bean flavor completely away. I used a lot of chocolate chips which I think helped as well. Great for a healthy twist on brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
WOW!!!!!!! I made this for my fiance, as he loves black beans, I told him I was making him something special. He didn't even know there were black beans in there! They are a bit different in texture, but not too much. I'm going to try to make them a little more gooey...but awesome nonetheless! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Who'd ever think of using black beans in brownies? My hubby and I are both watching our weight, and since we both love to eat sweets, I was looking for a healthier brownie recipe. I found it! This was surprisingly delicious! The only thing I miss is the flaky topping I'm used to seeing when I make brownies from a box. I followed this recipe exactly, it was moist and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcat63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Delicious! I did, however, add, as one reviewer suggested, a small amount of baking powder to make the brownies more cake-like. They were very delicious and there is no apparent black bean flavor at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Made this recipe with a lot of reservation... how good can a black bean brownie be?? Well, we were blown away by how good they were. Added the 1 tsp baking powder. Will try a little more next week when we make our next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I made these for my girlfriends and no one could guess that they contained black beans! Not the same taste as a high calorie double fudge brownie, but still, an amazing brownie considering the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Wow! What a pleasant surprise. Made these last night and was a bit aprehensive to try them, I'm so glad I did! Yummy. Everyone loves them, I've had several requests for the recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Oh my wow! These are great! Who would've thunk it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States