Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
YUM! I do not eat grains or dairy, so this recipe was perfect! I did make a few changes to make it a bit healthier: I used 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce instead of vegetable oil, and Eggbeaters instead of 3 eggs. I added extra coffee and vanilla as I love both, and they turned out great! I didn't mind the texture, and I couldn't really taste the beans. To those who CAN taste the beans: try adding a little more cocoa, coffee, or vanilla next time. The additional flavors really mask the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
741 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I have a killer sweet tooth and I have to say these are pretty gosh darn good. I experimented a little and found that adding about a teaspoon of baking powder gives a little more cake-like brownie if you prefer that texture. I left out the coffee and I cannot taste any black bean flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
417 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pardonmyfrench

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I've had these before and they were excellent however, I would not recommend using special dark cocoa...it makes the recipe unedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Delicious! I did, however, add, as one reviewer suggested, a small amount of baking powder to make the brownies more cake-like. They were very delicious and there is no apparent black bean flavor at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
We are brownie conosuiers and my family absolutely LOVED these brownies!! I didn't have instant coffee so I substituted with 3 tsps of strong coffee. It definitely brought out the chocolate flavor and we couldn't taste the beans at all. A little different texture but very similar to fudgy brownies which we love. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I liked these, but must admit to not loving them.. yet. I was hoping for a deeper richer chocolate taste and a bit more of a traditional chewy texture. I will play with this a bit and see what I can come up with.. perhaps more cocoa powder for the chocolate part and for texture? maybe a few nuts of soemthing.. it needs some THING in there just besides the brownie. Something crunchy or chewy... with a bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by khlomom
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
These are delicious!! I've made them many times over and have figured out how to make them perfectly. I bake them for 26 minutes instead of the full 30 that the recipe calls for, and they are perfectly done! I also use only Ghiradelli sweetened cocoa, and Ghiradelli 60% cocoa dark chocolate chips, as well as walnuts (since I prefer walnuts in my brownies). I also add 2-3 drops of almond extract along with the vanilla extract, and I blend all ingredients in a food processor. The end result is a very chocolaty and smooth brownie where you don't get any bean texture or taste- they are just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I made these for my girlfriends and no one could guess that they contained black beans! Not the same taste as a high calorie double fudge brownie, but still, an amazing brownie considering the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Who'd ever think of using black beans in brownies? My hubby and I are both watching our weight, and since we both love to eat sweets, I was looking for a healthier brownie recipe. I found it! This was surprisingly delicious! The only thing I miss is the flaky topping I'm used to seeing when I make brownies from a box. I followed this recipe exactly, it was moist and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcat63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I've recently been trying to stay away from flour but I love my sweets and chocolate. I didn't have the coffee, but I have a feeling it would have taken the very mild hint of black bean flavor completely away. I used a lot of chocolate chips which I think helped as well. Great for a healthy twist on brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States