Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
YUM! I do not eat grains or dairy, so this recipe was perfect! I did make a few changes to make it a bit healthier: I used 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce instead of vegetable oil, and Eggbeaters instead of 3 eggs. I added extra coffee and vanilla as I love both, and they turned out great! I didn't mind the texture, and I couldn't really taste the beans. To those who CAN taste the beans: try adding a little more cocoa, coffee, or vanilla next time. The additional flavors really mask the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
725 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I have a killer sweet tooth and I have to say these are pretty gosh darn good. I experimented a little and found that adding about a teaspoon of baking powder gives a little more cake-like brownie if you prefer that texture. I left out the coffee and I cannot taste any black bean flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
402 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pardonmyfrench

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I've had these before and they were excellent however, I would not recommend using special dark cocoa...it makes the recipe unedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Delicious! I did, however, add, as one reviewer suggested, a small amount of baking powder to make the brownies more cake-like. They were very delicious and there is no apparent black bean flavor at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
We are brownie conosuiers and my family absolutely LOVED these brownies!! I didn't have instant coffee so I substituted with 3 tsps of strong coffee. It definitely brought out the chocolate flavor and we couldn't taste the beans at all. A little different texture but very similar to fudgy brownies which we love. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I liked these, but must admit to not loving them.. yet. I was hoping for a deeper richer chocolate taste and a bit more of a traditional chewy texture. I will play with this a bit and see what I can come up with.. perhaps more cocoa powder for the chocolate part and for texture? maybe a few nuts of soemthing.. it needs some THING in there just besides the brownie. Something crunchy or chewy... with a bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I made these for my girlfriends and no one could guess that they contained black beans! Not the same taste as a high calorie double fudge brownie, but still, an amazing brownie considering the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by khlomom
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
These are delicious!! I've made them many times over and have figured out how to make them perfectly. I bake them for 26 minutes instead of the full 30 that the recipe calls for, and they are perfectly done! I also use only Ghiradelli sweetened cocoa, and Ghiradelli 60% cocoa dark chocolate chips, as well as walnuts (since I prefer walnuts in my brownies). I also add 2-3 drops of almond extract along with the vanilla extract, and I blend all ingredients in a food processor. The end result is a very chocolaty and smooth brownie where you don't get any bean texture or taste- they are just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Who'd ever think of using black beans in brownies? My hubby and I are both watching our weight, and since we both love to eat sweets, I was looking for a healthier brownie recipe. I found it! This was surprisingly delicious! The only thing I miss is the flaky topping I'm used to seeing when I make brownies from a box. I followed this recipe exactly, it was moist and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcat63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I've recently been trying to stay away from flour but I love my sweets and chocolate. I didn't have the coffee, but I have a feeling it would have taken the very mild hint of black bean flavor completely away. I used a lot of chocolate chips which I think helped as well. Great for a healthy twist on brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States