Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I think they are very good, I think I could tweak them to improve the texture so I may try this again. a tad bit of melted chips on top would make like a frosting and intensify the chocolate a little. I will make them again cause I need alot of protien and the beans are great for this and I love black beans anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
For a "better for you brownie" these were really good. I certainly love them, and my oh so picky daughter has no clue they are made with beans. They were a definite success. I chose to stick to the recipe minus the coffee this round, but next time I may add peanut butter chips to the top for a treat. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Not Great. If you cannot have flour or grain products, they are far better than having no dessert at all, but they were definitely not great. They had a bitter, beany edge and were not nearly sweet enough. I added a handful of pecans for the last 10 seconds of blending, and used the suggested milk chocolate chips on top, but they were still just ok. Kind of gummy. My son-in-law, who usually loves any kind of chocolate baked goods, politely ate one and did not go back for seconds. They could be decent, maybe with a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This has become THE recipe when I want to make something healthier. I do substitute Splenda for the sugar because I'm diabetic. Everything else is the same. The first time I made them I took them in to work and nobody could believe they were made with black beans. No other recipe in my collection gets more rave reviews and I always do a double recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
love the recipe AS WRITTEN. But I don't understand how others can critique IT when they alter it??? Maybe alter AFTER you try it as is - then you can complain (about tasting the beans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri L. Fontes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
These are mushy and gritty. These aren't cakey or fudgey, just mushy. These have a few less calories so I thought I would give them a try but I'm going back to the old recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Wow! So impressed! They tasted like molten chocolate lava cake! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
These were okay as written (more like cake though), but our family liked them way better with 1 less egg, 1/3 cup cocoa and 1/2 cup dark brown sugar. More "brownie like" that way. The coffee is a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummySmells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Very good but not as good as box brownies. Not bad for a healthy alternative. Would be better with more chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This is too funny. My kids don't like beans, so I hide the cans. They love them. I even served them at church and they were the first dessert gone! People said they went back for more and there were none left. (I did add a 1/4 cup ground almonds.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States