Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I add 1 teaspoon of baking powder to give it a more cakey texture. I also recommend REALLY blending it well - you can end up with a grainy texture otherwise. Also I top with cocoa nibs, it adds a nuttiness to it as well as antioxidants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
These are great, especially for those with gluten allergies! I didn't like the first one because I was thinking about beans so it tasted like beans. After that, I just thought "chocolate" and they were great! My husband loves them as well - didn't see that one coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
For being healthy, these are good, but they didn't taste exactly like brownies. They needed more sugar and cocoa maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This recipe is quick, simple, moist AND delicious! I used 3 tbsp of coconut oil and added 1/2 c of both coconut and walnuts to the batter. I also cut the sugar to 1/4 cup with NO discernible difference in taste! Served this as a birthday "cake" to three others who had no idea that there wasn't a speck of flour in the recipe. For gluten/wheat-free diets, this is an absolutely wonderful option!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
When my children saw me making these, they were whining and complaining (I guess the ingredients didn't appeal to them). But, once they tasted them, the pan was gone in no time! They love them! It is now a regular recipe we make. I add one more egg to it to add extra protein. I whipped up some whipping cream and served it on top, which made for a delicious topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hohlfeld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I didn't have any vegetable oil so I replaced it with 1/3 cup melted coconut oil. it pairs really well with the chocolate. I took these on a family camping trip and no one guessed that they were made with black beans. The toddlers loved them and so did the teenagers! This is one brownie you won't feel guilty having a second one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I will make these again, definitely a different texture than brownies made with flour, i did add an extra quarter cup of chocolate chips because more chocolate is always better. This recipe is a real plus for anyone who is on a glutten free diet. Overall i like this recipe a lot,i think it should be stored in the fridge since it containes beans and beans should stay cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookergirl
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
These were so good! Didn't taste the beans at all. I did double up the cocoa powder and used brown sugar. I also added shredded coconut to it. My roommate said they weren't sweet enough but I think that's because I used dark chocolate chips instead of milk chocolate. Otherwise they came out fudgey and super rich. The other great thing is they have all the protien from the beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Really liked them if you do not want to eat the real thing. Add 1 tsp of baking powder & nuts and maybe a little more chocolate chips. Husband said that they were not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I think they are very good, I think I could tweak them to improve the texture so I may try this again. a tad bit of melted chips on top would make like a frosting and intensify the chocolate a little. I will make them again cause I need alot of protien and the beans are great for this and I love black beans anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States