Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I know it says the milk chocolate chips are optional, but I was pretty surprised to see these in a "dairy-free" recipe. I replaced with non-dairy chocolate chips and they tasted ok, but I'm really unimpressed by the lack of care when marking this as a dairy-free recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I added the 1/2 tsp baking soda as others recommended. I also added extra cocoa powder, chocolate chips, and instant coffee powder. The flavor was slightly bean-ish. To me, it was reminiscent of "an" (japanese sweet bean paste used as filling in daifuku and other sweets). I gave it four stars because it's a gluten-free and dairy-free recipe that doesn't have weird ingredients (xantham gum? what is that?). It's a decent recipe if you have food intolerances, but not an ideal substitute otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This recipe turned out great! I tweaked it just a little by using applesauce in place of the oil, and instead of 3/4 c sugar, I used about a 1/3 c sugar and 1/4 stevia. Also I added the teaspoon of baking powder a few other folks suggested to make them "cakier". They turned out absolutely delicious and virtually guilt free!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Fantastic! I made a double batch of these for the Superbowl party, and they went like hotcakes. No one had any idea they were "special." Love that they're gluten free. The only change I made was incoprorating butterscotch chips with the chocolate chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
My Gluten free friend always asks me to bring these over. Everybody loves them, no one can tell they have beans in them, or are flourless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I didn't like the texture of these brownies at all. My family loved them and my mom said you could never guess these were made with black beans. I guess it's my taste buds..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and nobody in my house knew that they were made with black beans. It had an excellent cake like texture and tasted just like a brownie. Still has carbs but the high fiber is there. Will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I have made these brownies several times. I love the gluten-free, high protein, high fiber nature of these brownies, and they are better with some homemade chocolate icing. Today, however, I subbed COCONUT OIL for the vegetable oil. Wow! What a difference! I have a feeling I'll be making these more often now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Surprisingly good. Didn't taste beans at all. I only had to bake about 25 min and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Made these & no one could believe they were made with black beans! Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States