Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
love the recipe AS WRITTEN. But I don't understand how others can critique IT when they alter it??? Maybe alter AFTER you try it as is - then you can complain (about tasting the beans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
These are mushy and gritty. These aren't cakey or fudgey, just mushy. These have a few less calories so I thought I would give them a try but I'm going back to the old recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Wow! So impressed! They tasted like molten chocolate lava cake! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
These were okay as written (more like cake though), but our family liked them way better with 1 less egg, 1/3 cup cocoa and 1/2 cup dark brown sugar. More "brownie like" that way. The coffee is a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummySmells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Very good but not as good as box brownies. Not bad for a healthy alternative. Would be better with more chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This is too funny. My kids don't like beans, so I hide the cans. They love them. I even served them at church and they were the first dessert gone! People said they went back for more and there were none left. (I did add a 1/4 cup ground almonds.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
These are some pretty darn good brownies. Although, I'll admit, I've had trouble with them coming out consistently. I don't add coffee, but maybe I'll try adding a touch of cayenne. For those who say they can taste the beans, make sure you rinse them very well. That should do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
These brownies were amazing - I'm not a huge fan of brownies but these were the best ones I've ever eaten. This recipe is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Pretty good! I made these for my toddler who is very anti-protein. They are in no way a truly decadent brownie, but for a healthy alternative they do the job! I omitted the coffee and mixed the chocolate chips right into batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ceridwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
A good introduction to baking w/o wheat. My 13 yo daughter and I have made just a few tweaks; Increase the cocoa to 1/3 C, make the sugar 1/2 C granulated and 1/4 C brown, and add a tad more than 1 teaspoon of butter, omit the instant coffee (We felt the flavor of the coffee was too strong, and gave the brownies an unbalanced flavor. In wheat-based brownie recipes the addition of coffee blooms the flavor of the cocoa, enhancing the chocolate flavor. We didn't find that was true, here). These changes took care of that last remaining "beaniness". They're absolutely delectable, now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States