Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I will make these again, definitely a different texture than brownies made with flour, i did add an extra quarter cup of chocolate chips because more chocolate is always better. This recipe is a real plus for anyone who is on a glutten free diet. Overall i like this recipe a lot,i think it should be stored in the fridge since it containes beans and beans should stay cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookergirl
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
These were so good! Didn't taste the beans at all. I did double up the cocoa powder and used brown sugar. I also added shredded coconut to it. My roommate said they weren't sweet enough but I think that's because I used dark chocolate chips instead of milk chocolate. Otherwise they came out fudgey and super rich. The other great thing is they have all the protien from the beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Really liked them if you do not want to eat the real thing. Add 1 tsp of baking powder & nuts and maybe a little more chocolate chips. Husband said that they were not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I think they are very good, I think I could tweak them to improve the texture so I may try this again. a tad bit of melted chips on top would make like a frosting and intensify the chocolate a little. I will make them again cause I need alot of protien and the beans are great for this and I love black beans anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
For a "better for you brownie" these were really good. I certainly love them, and my oh so picky daughter has no clue they are made with beans. They were a definite success. I chose to stick to the recipe minus the coffee this round, but next time I may add peanut butter chips to the top for a treat. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Not Great. If you cannot have flour or grain products, they are far better than having no dessert at all, but they were definitely not great. They had a bitter, beany edge and were not nearly sweet enough. I added a handful of pecans for the last 10 seconds of blending, and used the suggested milk chocolate chips on top, but they were still just ok. Kind of gummy. My son-in-law, who usually loves any kind of chocolate baked goods, politely ate one and did not go back for seconds. They could be decent, maybe with a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This has become THE recipe when I want to make something healthier. I do substitute Splenda for the sugar because I'm diabetic. Everything else is the same. The first time I made them I took them in to work and nobody could believe they were made with black beans. No other recipe in my collection gets more rave reviews and I always do a double recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
love the recipe AS WRITTEN. But I don't understand how others can critique IT when they alter it??? Maybe alter AFTER you try it as is - then you can complain (about tasting the beans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
These are mushy and gritty. These aren't cakey or fudgey, just mushy. These have a few less calories so I thought I would give them a try but I'm going back to the old recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Wow! So impressed! They tasted like molten chocolate lava cake! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States