Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
The taste is fine, but mine didn't really bake. They're mush on the inside. The outside is cooked, but inside they're raw. I baked them at 350 for 30 minutes and didn't deviate from the recipe at all. These seem like they would be great if I could get them to cook all the way. I don't know what went wrong. Did anyone else have this problem? Any suggestions on how to fix this? [And yes, I did have the oven turned on. So no jokes about that! ;) ]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Just made these brownies for the first time and am very pleased with how they turned out. I took the recommendations of some other reviewers and added about 3/4 t of baking powder and used 1/2 cup applesauce rather than the oil. I topped the brownies with the brownie frosting recipe (also from this site) and am very happy with the results. Be sure to place the ingredients in a blender or food processor. I didn't; just used by KitcheAide and I had tiny chunks of beans in the final product. Not a big deal~still tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Whiting, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
So delicious! I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe and glad that I could make it with things that were already around my house. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
These are a great healthier alternative to regular brownies. After reading a few reviews I made a couple of adjustments. I used 1/8 cup regular cocoa and 1/8 cup dark cocoa and instead of coffee I added about 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper and just a small handful of dark chocolate chips. AMAZING! I was thoroughly surprised at how much I like these considering I am NOT a bean eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This review is for people who are on the fence about making these. *For black bean brownies* these were very good. I used 1/3 c cocoa powder instead of 1/4, applesauce instead of oil (as I do in all of my brownie recipes), 2 eggs instead of 3 (actually, egg substitute) for a less cake-y brownie, and omitted the coffee and chocolate chips - resulting in a fat-free brownie. I served them to my boyfriend and he thought they were very rich and chocolateyy...then I told them the secret ingredient. After that, he said he could identify the black bean taste (which is true, I could taste it too, but it was very faint) and no longer wanted to eat them. HAH, more fat-free brownies for meeee!! Overall, very fudge-y, chocolate-y, not-quite-real-tasting brownie. Delicious if you're looking to limit wheat or fat and have a fiber-filled "healthy" brownie. Otherwise, stick to a regular brownie recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Made this for my husband. He LOVED it. I did substitute Splenda for the sugar and followed the suggestion to add baking powder and baking soda. The brownies turned out great. Will make this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
These are great! I followed other people suggestions and used close to 1/2 cup coco powder. I also mixed in the chocolate chips and didn't add the coffee. The only thing I didn't like a ton was the texture. It was a little like a spongy cake, so maybe next time i'll only add 2 eggs instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittensamantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I prepared it, for my family, as directed to the letter. And the flavor was surprising for essentially a chocolate bean pie. But within a couple of hours we all had some unpleasant results. I will NOT be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anyone-can-cooook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I've made these a few times, tweaking things as I went, and finally ended up with product that I love! The texture of the original brownie was not to my liking...somewhat mushy. My changes were as follows: 1/2 cup pureed pumpkin instead of the oil; extra TBL of cocoa powder; no salt; extra tsp of vanilla; 2/3 cup sugar instead of 3/4 cup; 1 tsp of cinnamon; 1 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of baking soda. I did not use the coffee or chocolate chips. The result is a cake-like brownie with a delicious chocolatey flavor, and only about 75 calories a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Gabella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
HOLY COW THESE ARE AWESOME!! I've tricked my kids, my husband, my parents, my friends. OK I've tricked everyone I know and they LOVE THEM!! I'll definitely be making these regularly. The only substitution was greek yogurt for the oil and they were still very moist (almost like fudge). Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine McCann Shelton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States