Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipes says. I loved these. I like the fact there is no flour in it. Next time I will try using apple sauce instead of the oil as one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
BAD aftertaste. They look like brownies but even if you can get past the strange texture and convince yourself you can't taste the beans, they really stick with you in a bad way. I love brownies and I substitute healthier ingredients in them all the time, but won't use beans again...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I tried it without the chocolate chips or the instant coffee, and I absolutely love them! Not only are they easier to make than traditional brownies, but the texture is smooth, and they are delicious! I think when I make them again, I'll make them with either a little more cocoa powder or with the chocolate chips on the top. I am most definitely planning on making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
The taste is fine, but mine didn't really bake. They're mush on the inside. The outside is cooked, but inside they're raw. I baked them at 350 for 30 minutes and didn't deviate from the recipe at all. These seem like they would be great if I could get them to cook all the way. I don't know what went wrong. Did anyone else have this problem? Any suggestions on how to fix this? [And yes, I did have the oven turned on. So no jokes about that! ;) ]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Just made these brownies for the first time and am very pleased with how they turned out. I took the recommendations of some other reviewers and added about 3/4 t of baking powder and used 1/2 cup applesauce rather than the oil. I topped the brownies with the brownie frosting recipe (also from this site) and am very happy with the results. Be sure to place the ingredients in a blender or food processor. I didn't; just used by KitcheAide and I had tiny chunks of beans in the final product. Not a big deal~still tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Whiting, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
So delicious! I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe and glad that I could make it with things that were already around my house. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
These are a great healthier alternative to regular brownies. After reading a few reviews I made a couple of adjustments. I used 1/8 cup regular cocoa and 1/8 cup dark cocoa and instead of coffee I added about 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper and just a small handful of dark chocolate chips. AMAZING! I was thoroughly surprised at how much I like these considering I am NOT a bean eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This review is for people who are on the fence about making these. *For black bean brownies* these were very good. I used 1/3 c cocoa powder instead of 1/4, applesauce instead of oil (as I do in all of my brownie recipes), 2 eggs instead of 3 (actually, egg substitute) for a less cake-y brownie, and omitted the coffee and chocolate chips - resulting in a fat-free brownie. I served them to my boyfriend and he thought they were very rich and chocolateyy...then I told them the secret ingredient. After that, he said he could identify the black bean taste (which is true, I could taste it too, but it was very faint) and no longer wanted to eat them. HAH, more fat-free brownies for meeee!! Overall, very fudge-y, chocolate-y, not-quite-real-tasting brownie. Delicious if you're looking to limit wheat or fat and have a fiber-filled "healthy" brownie. Otherwise, stick to a regular brownie recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Made this for my husband. He LOVED it. I did substitute Splenda for the sugar and followed the suggestion to add baking powder and baking soda. The brownies turned out great. Will make this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
These are great! I followed other people suggestions and used close to 1/2 cup coco powder. I also mixed in the chocolate chips and didn't add the coffee. The only thing I didn't like a ton was the texture. It was a little like a spongy cake, so maybe next time i'll only add 2 eggs instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittensamantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States