Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This recipe is great! You have to try it. Nothing will ever replace a true brownie but this was pretty close. I am a baker and I did make changes to mask the flavor a bit just based on my experience. I increased coffee & vanilla to 1 tbs each & used coconut oil in place of veg oil. No one knew they were beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Perfect for Celiac's,they were delish and naturally gluten free, I left out the instant coffee and used dark cocoa powder and didn't tell anyone what they were until they tasted them, they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Dana Keaton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
For protein-filled brownies these are pretty darn tasty. I used the 1 tsp of baking powder as well and it came out with a hearty texture. I wouldn't say these are healthy, because no amount of chocolate and sugar is, but they're definitely a less fattening option (with the protein - which is great for vegetarians like me!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by themoodyfoodie
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
These are surprising and super chocolately! I didn't have vanilla so I just used a few more chocolate chips. I also added the 1 tsp of baking powder as another reviewer suggested. I tried baking them in muffin pans and they are like little brownie cupcakes! Definitely making again. Especially since my hubby won't have a clue I'm sneaking in beans into his diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by themoodyfoodie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I don't eat gluten-free, but my new sister-in-law has to, so I wanted to find a gluten free dessert to make when she visits. I also didn't want to have to buy special/expensive flour substitutes since I probably wouldn't use them again. I did a trial run of this, and I thought they were good, but the texture was not something I've ever had before. My mom did not like them at all...and she loves chocolate anything. Don't let that discourage you from trying this recipe out, I think this is one of those recipes where you either love it or hate it, and it's pretty cheap to make so if you don't like it, you won't lose that much money for the effort. I subbed egg beaters for the eggs and I used International Delight Suisse Mocha for the instant coffee. I will definitely make this again, since even though I'm not gluten free, I am on a high fiber diet. And beans are a great source of fiber...and gas so don't eat the whole pan at once! lol Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Ok, I was skeptical. But this was actually pretty good. I read some reviews before making this, and the only change was that I added 1/2 tsp each of baking soda and baking powder. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Interesting recipe, the texture of these brownies were great, soft and moist, would never think that there were black beans in it. I would have liked it to have more of a chocolate flavor, which I thought was still lacking in spite of adding a bit more than 1/2 cup of cocoa powder and the 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. My other changes were almost a cup of sugar, 1/2 tsp of baking soda, 2 ripe bananas (which I think rather enhanced the flavor) and a Tbsp of coffee. Will try it again. - Poonam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Ate'm All! Used Cacao, doubled the amount, plus 1/2 tsp Baking Soda. Dark Choc Chips on top. Love these! Way better than regular brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
It was way to sweet, it just seemed artificial. I didn't like the texture, I didn't like the flavor. This recipe was not for me, I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Wow of course it's a different texture and slightly different flavor; the texture is the biggest difference from regular brownies. But after finally trying the black bean brownies I am very impressed! Tastes great and yay that there's no butter and not so much sugar. This recipe could really replace regular brownies for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 601) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States