Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
nasty! The consistency was nice and chewy, but they tasted like dirt! My kids were so excited to eat them because they looked delicious, but one bite each, and the rest went into the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
These are irresistibly delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
We used Truvia instead of white sugar and 3/4 cup is way too much. I'd cut it if you use a sweetener and possibly add something like almond extract. Omitted the coffee. I like it and will refrigerate it so it becomes even chewier. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
could not believe how good these were...my husband was in disbelief that there were beans in this recipe...mine came out very moist..done, but a tad mushy.. I will try again using other reveiwers suggestions....its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
made it with the applesauce like another person suggested & it was delicious. Next time i will try it with the baking soda to help keep it together & make it more cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Pretty good. I made the recipe almost exactly as stated except for exchanging two of the tablespoons of oil for two tablespoons of room temperature (semi-solid) coconut oil. I rinsed the beans really well and used a fresh, quality cocoa. I did not add chips or coffee. The brownies came out moist, slightly cakey, with no bean taste. My 6-year-old was wary when the beans were added to the mix but after tasting them they were rated "almost as good" as regular brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
this is an amazing recipe, I made it exactly as the recipe called for and was so surprised how great they tasted. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Blizzard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union Bridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Glowiie
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I don't have any dietary restrictions that led me to this recipe. I just had an abundance of black beans that was trying to get rid of - and who wouldn't want a healthier dessert option anyway? I have to say, I like this far more than I thought I would. The only change I made was to add a teaspoon of baking powder like others suggested. It came out with a sort of denser sponge cake consistency which I was impressed with. My only critique is that it was a tad on the bland side. Adding chocolate chips to the top fixed it well enough for me, and I suspect icing would be good as well. I plan to make this again, but I'll try to add a bit more chocolate flavor to the batter. Overall, I would make this again if I wanted a healthier dessert, but if I wanted to impress someone, is go with the full fat, fudgy brownies :). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glowiie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carla Bennici
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
First time ever making Black Bean Brownies! Pretty yummy and rich! My kids loved helping me make them and their Favorite part of helping was licking the spoon! I replaced the white sugar with coconut sugar and still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is a hit..everyone was shocked it was black beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States