Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I went a little heavy on the cocoa powder, a little heavy on the oil and I shaved a dark chocolate candy bar on the top. This reminds me of a flourless chocolate cake from a fancy restaurant. I don't think I shall ever make brownies using flour again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Very good, I took these to work and they were surprised that they were glueten free. I cut back one egg and added 1/4 cup apple sauce, increased the vanilla and the instant coffee to 2 teaspoons as well as added a teaspoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Flumerfelt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I made these for a family dinner and everyone liked them! Including a family member that won't eat black beans. I did substitute brown sugar for white sugar, and mixed nuts for the chocolate chips. I know some of my friends wouldn't be so keen on these since they don't have that sugary brownie taste, but for my family and me that's perfect. Maybe I'll add more sugar or chocolate when I want to make them have that sugary taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Amazing. Added 1/2 t cinnamon and upped coffee granules and vanilla to 1 1/2 t each. Blended in my cuisinart and baked at 340 (my oven runs hot) for exactly 30 minutes. I say it makes 8 servings and each one has 5 WW Points Plus - great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
These are good for glueten free and using black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Oh my goodness.... I made these only because I was convinced that there was no way that they would taste good. I was SO wrong! It may help that my blender is a Vitamix, so it pulvarized the beans. I added a tsp of baking powder, a handful of chopped pecans and a sprinkle of toffee pieces to the mix. I'm pretty sure that i will never make another brownie mix again! Sooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommacoz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Me and my family love this recipe! I never knew black beans tasted so good in a brownie. We give it five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Loved these, but added 1tbs oil instead of 3 & 1/2 banana & 1/2 c cocoa powder no choc chips & splenda 1/2 c & sugar 1/2 c to make healthier & dec cal My husband thought they were regular brownies ! Also added 1/2 c chopped pecans !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
The best black bean brownies I've ever had! I've tried several recipes with baking soda and it made the brownie very cake-like. My husband and I love brownies- ok, we love boxed brownies (brownie mixes): Ghiradelli and Betty Crocker top the list. Five stars for a healthier alternative. They can't compare to the boxed variety, but it's not fair to compare a healthier version to an unhealthy one. These black bean brownies don't have that dense-fudgy flavor, but then again they don't have a long list of artificial ingredients that you'd never find in your pantry either. To help mask the bean flavor, we added two tablespoons of creamy peanut butter and the 1/2 cup of chocolate chips to the blender (to make sure we got a taste of real chocolate in every bite). We didn't add the instant coffee, because we didn't have it. The verdict: My three-year olds gobbled them up quickly. My husband knew something was amiss, but he said they were good. We'll definitely make them again as a healthier alternative to brownies. The next time, I'll add more peanut butter and some chopped walnuts. Thank you Elizabeth for a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Just made these, and they are delicious! I also added 1/2 tsp of baking powder like others commented, and since I was out of vanilla, I used maple syrup! Topped them with powdered sugar, and yum yum yum :) will definitely make again. Can't taste the black beans at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States