Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I love them!! They are very yummy and the kids liked them too. Next time I will add a bit of baking powder and Im thinking cinnamon would be good in them, too. Great recipe though. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Carole Robertson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I absolutely can't get over the fact that I just made brownies out of black beans and LOVED them! I did use the suggestion of other reviewers and added a tsp of baking powder and just couldn't be more pleased. Thanks so much for sharing a great way to sneak in some healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Taste was not bad, but texture was horrible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Estrada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Delicious way to eat healthier brownies! I didn't taste the beans at all. My husband didn't even notice they weren't regular brownies. Next time I'll reduce their sugar to 1/2 a cup because they tasted very sweet to me. I did use applesauce instead of oil per my usual in recipes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Yum! Where have these been all my gluten free life?? I made these into cupcakes (they made 12 filled 1/2- ish full of batter) baked at the same time and temperature and they were so good. I did add the coffee and I used vanilla my girlfriend brought back from Mexico and the combo was deadly. All of our kids gobbled them up and had no clue they were made from beans. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Sorry, but there was no hiding the bean taste or texture and they were soft and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
These were absolutely delicious, the kids loved them. I made the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I read with interest many of the reviews prior to making these brownies. Some complained they were to dry, others too wet, others claimed these were perfect. I am a very novice baker, and wasn't sure what to expect. I have to say I nailed it first try. How they are too dry or too wet - from "experienced" bakers is beyond me. The texture is somewhat fudgey. I could not taste the beans at all. Using the optional coffee probably is the reason there was no bean taste. I was so proud of my accomplishment, I brought them into work for others to sample. They all loved them - and not because they are all polite people and I am so nice... the compliments were sincere & it was recommended I bring in more for an up coming bake sale - they were the first to sell out and people asked for the recipe - of course I would not give the recipe out (I am not that nice). If anyone has any doubts, do not worry... make these brownies. I did mine completely in a blender... and now add more chocolate chips or sometimes carob. This is a proven winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I didn't care for the taste of these. The bean and coffee flavor was too distinguishable, even after adding a little more cocoa powder than was called for. However, these did bake very nicely and really resembled brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Great recipe! These didn't taste like beans AT ALL, which I was worried about based on other reviews. It could be because I added extra cocoa powder for a deeper chocolate flavor. These were the changes I made: - 4 TBSP fresh coffee (didn't have instant coffee powder) - Extra 2 TBSP cocoa powder (to balance out extra moisture from coffee) - 1 tsp baking powder (to improve texture, per suggestions in other reviews) - No vanilla, because I didn't have any :( The result was a brownie with a rich, deep chocolate flavor. The texture is different than a normal brownie, but that is to be expected. I used a food processor to blend my ingredients and there were no lumps in the final product. Overall, tasty final product. It doesn't compare to a real brownie, but if you think of it as a separate dessert, it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States