Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
These came out so so dry. I served with Cool Whip which helped, but they were still not very good. Think I will try adding applesauce in next time. Not sure what else to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These are really good and easy to make, but much better, imo, with the following alterations. I added about a tsp of baking soda. I used 1/2 cup of honey in stead of sugar and therefore adjusted the baking temp to 325. It then takes about 40 min to bake and comes out deliciously moist. I also left out the coffee, chocolate and vanilla... I once made them for my inlaws and used stevia, but they ended up being really dry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
The other reviews were so good, I had to try these! The texture alone proves that these aren't your normal, everyday brownies...like stiff mashed potatoes. Taste would be very bland if it weren't for the chocolate chips on top. Go for the real thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I have Celiac and I was expecting a delicious dessert and although the taste was good, the texture was inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Delicious! I left out the instant coffee and added 1 t baking powder because I like more cake-like brownies. Also added walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdeloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
These are good considering that they have beans instead of flour. But they don't taste as good as your standard (less healthy) brownie. I'm not sure the nutritional profile is good enough to make these worth making again. I'd usually prefer a smaller portion of a more decadent treat than a slightly larger portion of this. I should mention that I didn't use the coffee, which might have improved the flavor. I couldn't taste the beans even without the addition of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
A good alternative to regular brownies. I added extra cocoa, espresso powder, and chopped bittersweet chocolate (both in the batter and sprinkled on top). I also took the brownies out a few minutes early, but will probably leave them in the full time, next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I see nothing wrong with this recipe. It may not be the gooiest or most decadent brownie ever, but if you're looking for a chocolate fix that's not also an automatic guilty pleasure, give these a shot! I did add baking powder, as recommended by other reviewers, and upped the cocoa powder to 1/2 cup (I love me some chocolate). I found using kidney beans introduces even less 'beaniness' than black beans. I also added 2 tbsp cinnamon, which I do with all brownie recipes. I gave these to my roommates and no one questioned the recipe until they saw the bean cans in the recycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
These tasted as good as any other brownies... In fact no one new the difference. The backshot is gas.... LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarkBlair

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Liberty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I made these out of curiosity after a friend mentioned that she had tried black bean brownies. They're delicious, and have gotten great reviews from several friends. I would recommend blending them, as I tried using a mixer for the first batch, and was left with a "beanier" consistency. When properly blended, there is no bean taste. I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States