Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Saint Jimmy
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Very fantastic recipe, I've found myself making them about every other week as a healthier way to crush my chocolate cravings. I add 1/2 tsp baking powder, increase the cocoa powder to 1/2 cup and typically use 2 tsps instant coffee and avout 1 tblsp vanilla. I recently brought one to my grandparents (which I don't typically do; they're professional chefs and very picky) and they said it tasted like something from a gourmet bakery. They were surprised to find out it was made with black beans and suggested covering it in a milk chocolate ganache. Anyway, they are very delicious and I highly recommend trying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Jimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Wow, I must say that for Gluten Free, these are pretty good. I did add the 1 teaspoon of baking powder though. I'm impressed! Thanks for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Espydublohef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jerome, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
My first attempt at Gluten free baking and I must say these are GOOD! After reading other reviews I did add extra cocoa powder, a dash of baking powder and omitted the coffee but did sprinkle the top with chocolate chips. Once they were cooked and cooled I put them directly in the fridge for a few hours before cutting them. The texture and taste was a bit different but nobody I served them to guessed there were black beans in the recipe. Next time I need a gluten free dessert I would definitely try this again...very easy to make which is a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
We LOVE these! I actually halved the sugar (and made up the difference with Stevia-in-the-Raw), and used coconut oil, instead of vegetable oil. They are delicious! I give them a HUGE thumbs up for taste & texture. The texture is a little different, of course, than a standard brownie, but still really great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Very fudgy & you cannot taste the beans. I substituted agave for the sugar, applesauce for the vegetable oil & egg beaters for the eggs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karsmitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Like many others, I made the following substitutions: 1/2cup applesauce instead of the oil, upped the cocoa powder to 1/3, upped the vanilla to 2t, added 1t baking powder, and used the instant coffee. I didn't use the chips. This brings the calories to 106 and the fat to 1.4g. My cooking time wasn't great (I accidentally turned off the oven part way through and had to restart) so they weren't as dry as they probably should have been but the result was delicious. I'll certainly be making them again. Decadent, chocolatey, a hint of coffee, and no bean taste at all. I can't wait to share them if I can keep out of them for that long. I wonder what would happen if I subbed out some or all of that sugar since it is so much for an otherwise healthy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
These were really good! I stirred chocolate chips into the batter, and they were so yummy, I will make them again. My kids liked them too, even though they are used to eating the box mix brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I really enjoyed these brownies. I've made them twice: once exactly as in the recipe and a second time adding baking powder and soda as well as walnuts. Both times they were yummy, but I liked the second time best. I think the baking powder and soda made the texture perfect and I didn't miss the flour at all! I gave it four stars because I think this tweak takes the original to five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
These came out so so dry. I served with Cool Whip which helped, but they were still not very good. Think I will try adding applesauce in next time. Not sure what else to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These are really good and easy to make, but much better, imo, with the following alterations. I added about a tsp of baking soda. I used 1/2 cup of honey in stead of sugar and therefore adjusted the baking temp to 325. It then takes about 40 min to bake and comes out deliciously moist. I also left out the coffee, chocolate and vanilla... I once made them for my inlaws and used stevia, but they ended up being really dry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States