Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I thought these were fantastic. Didn't taste any bean flavor at all. I didn't have any instant coffee, so I just used a little more cocoa powder. I loved the fudge like texture. I don't like super-sweet things, so I cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup and it was still great. I like them topped with peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Love these! And my kid friends don't care that there is beans in them. I added a little more cocoa , but otherwise stick to the recipe . Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I love these brownies! I add a bit more cocoa powder and rinse the beans really, really good and you can't tell that its made with beans! Even my picky 5 year-old loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Great recipe! I find lots of sweets to be too sweet and carb filled. Knocks me out! The black beans in this recipe taste surprisingly delicious and don't make me feel like I'm on a sugar overload afterwards. I followed the recipe with these exceptions - upped the cocoa, add a TON of walnuts, cut down the total sugar volume a little bit, occasionally use half Splenda-half sugar. My husband loves them, and I get my chocolate fix! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
These were delicious - they don't have the same texture as a flour-based brownie would, but they were very moist, chocolatey (but I added more cocoa), and had only a very slight bean flavor. One caveat: it didn't make quite as much as I expected; the batter lay pretty thin in the 9x9 baking dish I used, so I doubled the recipe. All my coworkers who tried them agreed that while they didn't beat a proper brownie, they were very good for what they were. Definitely worth a try (and super quick to make if you have a food processor!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe on a carnivorous, chocolate brownie loving family and they absolutely loved these! Didn't question what was in them but ate almost the whole pan in one sitting! They don't ever do that! Will definitely keep this recipe on the menu. Wonderful flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
The best healthy brownie recipe I've ever come across. I changed it only slightly, using only a half cup of sugar (raw sugar) and added a half cup of stevia. It turned out so well, everyone in my family asks for these all the time. The best healthy dessert that people cannot stop requesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I omited coffee and added 50% more cocoa and added 3/4 tsp baking powder. Great recipe with my modifications :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I followed the directions exactly and was not pleased with the outcome. My family and I found these to be chalky and tasting just like beans covered in unsweetened chocolate. Even with the milk chocolate chips, they had no sweetness. They need something to add a little moisture and sweetness. I wish we had liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
amazing. added 1/2t baking powder like other reviewers. also substituted 1 T applesauce for one of the T of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States