Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I thought this was fantastic! I did double the chocolate chips to kick up the chocolate. My kids loved it. It reminded me of a chocolate torte. You could put it in a round pan and top it with raspberry jelly and pull it off as a fancy dessert. I am recommending this to all my friends with gluten-free and dairy-free diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Seriously, my sister even said they were better than from a mix, and believe me, she won't eat anything that she doesn't like, she's very honest, but you have to add much more cocoa, sugar and baking chocolate, so this recipe is not a good one,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I'm not a fan of this recipe. I've made a different recipe that tasted more like regular brownies. Need to find it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
A hit! I would most definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I can't speak to this recipe exactly as written because I hate coffee flavor. Having said that, when I substituted coconut that had been soaked in amaretto....Heavenly! I followed others' suggestions and added 1tsp baking powder and upped the coca to 1/3C. Everyone absolutely inhales these every time I make them. Also, fresh raspberries on top before baking is DIVINE! Even though I didn't stick exactly to the recipe, I'll give it 5 stars anyway, because people deserve to have this option for brownies. Thanks for the great alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Not bad for a fake brownie :p After reading some reviews I added extra vanilla, cocoa and instant coffee (about an extra tsp of each). The taste is great but the brownies themselves fall apart. I think next time I'll either use apple sauce instead of/in place of some of the oil, or I'll take them out of the oven a minute or two early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
These are excellent, considering the ingredients. I followed the recipe fairly closely (for me anyway). I used brown sugar instead of white (because that's what was on my counter) and sprinkled some chopped walnuts on top along with the chips. I have a really sweet tooth, so next time I will add some chips and/or more sugar to the batter mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
love this - I put it in my food processor for about 2 minutes, add 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/4 c all purpose gluten free flour. I also add an additional 1 tsp of instant coffee and vanilla. No bean taste and fudge-y. In addition to the milk choc chips after I baked it I sprinkled some semi chocolate chips long the top and closed the lids (use tinfoil) for about 15 min. Cool. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was a terrific recipe. I think the best "bean brownie" I have made so far! LOVE LOVE LOVE it! Going to experiment to see if I can substitute agave nectar or honey for the sugar. REALLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I thought these were fantastic. Didn't taste any bean flavor at all. I didn't have any instant coffee, so I just used a little more cocoa powder. I loved the fudge like texture. I don't like super-sweet things, so I cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup and it was still great. I like them topped with peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States