Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Excellent! I agree with those who say the texture isn't exactly what they are used to with brownies--maybe something between fudge and brownies, but lighter. I left out the salt, and I used 2 1/2 c cooked dry beans instead of canned, to reduce sodium. I will try the optional coffee and chips next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
i added cinnamon and 1/4 t baking powder. Was awesome! I think next time I'll make it even healthier by using agave nectar instead of white sugar. I also cooked and rinsed my own black beans for lower sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I have to admit that these are not the best brownies I have ever had, BUT considering how much healthier they are for you.. they are amazing! I substituted a few things to make them even healthier. Instead of oil I used unsweetened applesauce. Instead of eggs I used chia seeds (soaked in water for 20 minutes to make a gel). I also cut the sugar to about 1/2 cup and used a few more tablespoons of applesauce.DEEEE-LICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saint Jimmy
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Very fantastic recipe, I've found myself making them about every other week as a healthier way to crush my chocolate cravings. I add 1/2 tsp baking powder, increase the cocoa powder to 1/2 cup and typically use 2 tsps instant coffee and avout 1 tblsp vanilla. I recently brought one to my grandparents (which I don't typically do; they're professional chefs and very picky) and they said it tasted like something from a gourmet bakery. They were surprised to find out it was made with black beans and suggested covering it in a milk chocolate ganache. Anyway, they are very delicious and I highly recommend trying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Jimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Wow, I must say that for Gluten Free, these are pretty good. I did add the 1 teaspoon of baking powder though. I'm impressed! Thanks for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Espydublohef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jerome, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
My first attempt at Gluten free baking and I must say these are GOOD! After reading other reviews I did add extra cocoa powder, a dash of baking powder and omitted the coffee but did sprinkle the top with chocolate chips. Once they were cooked and cooled I put them directly in the fridge for a few hours before cutting them. The texture and taste was a bit different but nobody I served them to guessed there were black beans in the recipe. Next time I need a gluten free dessert I would definitely try this again...very easy to make which is a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
We LOVE these! I actually halved the sugar (and made up the difference with Stevia-in-the-Raw), and used coconut oil, instead of vegetable oil. They are delicious! I give them a HUGE thumbs up for taste & texture. The texture is a little different, of course, than a standard brownie, but still really great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Very fudgy & you cannot taste the beans. I substituted agave for the sugar, applesauce for the vegetable oil & egg beaters for the eggs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karsmitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Like many others, I made the following substitutions: 1/2cup applesauce instead of the oil, upped the cocoa powder to 1/3, upped the vanilla to 2t, added 1t baking powder, and used the instant coffee. I didn't use the chips. This brings the calories to 106 and the fat to 1.4g. My cooking time wasn't great (I accidentally turned off the oven part way through and had to restart) so they weren't as dry as they probably should have been but the result was delicious. I'll certainly be making them again. Decadent, chocolatey, a hint of coffee, and no bean taste at all. I can't wait to share them if I can keep out of them for that long. I wonder what would happen if I subbed out some or all of that sugar since it is so much for an otherwise healthy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
These were really good! I stirred chocolate chips into the batter, and they were so yummy, I will make them again. My kids liked them too, even though they are used to eating the box mix brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States