Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
made it with the applesauce like another person suggested & it was delicious. Next time i will try it with the baking soda to help keep it together & make it more cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Pretty good. I made the recipe almost exactly as stated except for exchanging two of the tablespoons of oil for two tablespoons of room temperature (semi-solid) coconut oil. I rinsed the beans really well and used a fresh, quality cocoa. I did not add chips or coffee. The brownies came out moist, slightly cakey, with no bean taste. My 6-year-old was wary when the beans were added to the mix but after tasting them they were rated "almost as good" as regular brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
this is an amazing recipe, I made it exactly as the recipe called for and was so surprised how great they tasted. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Blizzard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union Bridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Glowiie
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I don't have any dietary restrictions that led me to this recipe. I just had an abundance of black beans that was trying to get rid of - and who wouldn't want a healthier dessert option anyway? I have to say, I like this far more than I thought I would. The only change I made was to add a teaspoon of baking powder like others suggested. It came out with a sort of denser sponge cake consistency which I was impressed with. My only critique is that it was a tad on the bland side. Adding chocolate chips to the top fixed it well enough for me, and I suspect icing would be good as well. I plan to make this again, but I'll try to add a bit more chocolate flavor to the batter. Overall, I would make this again if I wanted a healthier dessert, but if I wanted to impress someone, is go with the full fat, fudgy brownies :). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glowiie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carla Bennici
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
First time ever making Black Bean Brownies! Pretty yummy and rich! My kids loved helping me make them and their Favorite part of helping was licking the spoon! I replaced the white sugar with coconut sugar and still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is a hit..everyone was shocked it was black beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I love this recipe!!! I use dark cocoa mostly and exchange regular sugar for coconut sugar. I also have need used coffee. I feel like im cheating! My kids luv them and I am happy to have something that won't make me sick from grains or to much sugar!! Thanks be to Elizabeth for posting this. 2 years ago I would have never dreamed going grain free would be possible for me. Recipes like this make it sooo much easier. Baking these right now. *Maybe the person that didn't like the batch they made with the dark cocoa probably would like it better if they cut back the cocoa to 1/8 of a cup instead of 1/4 cup. And maybe refrigerate it over night to let the flavors sink in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Not the best brownie I've ever had, but considering these are made without any flour or butter, pretty good! I used coconut oil instead of vegetable, and my fiancé is diabetic (which is the whole reason I was making flourless brownies in the first place) so replaced the sugar with stevia. Used bittersweet chocolate on top. He had no idea there were black beans in these, and he is an EXTREMELY picky eater. I think next time I will mix the chocolate chips right in instead of sprinkling on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I made this just the way it is listed. I thought they were perfect. Served them to my kids and just told them they were homemade brownies. No complaints. I rinsed the beans well before using them and couldn't taste them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I love them!! They are very yummy and the kids liked them too. Next time I will add a bit of baking powder and Im thinking cinnamon would be good in them, too. Great recipe though. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Carole Robertson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States