Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Gross
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I didn't care for the taste of these. The bean and coffee flavor was too distinguishable, even after adding a little more cocoa powder than was called for. However, these did bake very nicely and really resembled brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Great recipe! These didn't taste like beans AT ALL, which I was worried about based on other reviews. It could be because I added extra cocoa powder for a deeper chocolate flavor. These were the changes I made: - 4 TBSP fresh coffee (didn't have instant coffee powder) - Extra 2 TBSP cocoa powder (to balance out extra moisture from coffee) - 1 tsp baking powder (to improve texture, per suggestions in other reviews) - No vanilla, because I didn't have any :( The result was a brownie with a rich, deep chocolate flavor. The texture is different than a normal brownie, but that is to be expected. I used a food processor to blend my ingredients and there were no lumps in the final product. Overall, tasty final product. I'd make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Loved these. I detected no bean flavor at all. Added 1 oz of melted bakers chocolate in addition to the 1/3 of cocoa, subbed applesauce for the oil and added baking powder. They are a bit delicate not as durable as box brownies. Will experiment with more beans in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This recipe is great! You have to try it. Nothing will ever replace a true brownie but this was pretty close. I am a baker and I did make changes to mask the flavor a bit just based on my experience. I increased coffee & vanilla to 1 tbs each & used coconut oil in place of veg oil. No one knew they were beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Perfect for Celiac's,they were delish and naturally gluten free, I left out the instant coffee and used dark cocoa powder and didn't tell anyone what they were until they tasted them, they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Dana Keaton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
For protein-filled brownies these are pretty darn tasty. I used the 1 tsp of baking powder as well and it came out with a hearty texture. I wouldn't say these are healthy, because no amount of chocolate and sugar is, but they're definitely a less fattening option (with the protein - which is great for vegetarians like me!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by themoodyfoodie
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
These are surprising and super chocolately! I didn't have vanilla so I just used a few more chocolate chips. I also added the 1 tsp of baking powder as another reviewer suggested. I tried baking them in muffin pans and they are like little brownie cupcakes! Definitely making again. Especially since my hubby won't have a clue I'm sneaking in beans into his diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by themoodyfoodie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I don't eat gluten-free, but my new sister-in-law has to, so I wanted to find a gluten free dessert to make when she visits. I also didn't want to have to buy special/expensive flour substitutes since I probably wouldn't use them again. I did a trial run of this, and I thought they were good, but the texture was not something I've ever had before. My mom did not like them at all...and she loves chocolate anything. Don't let that discourage you from trying this recipe out, I think this is one of those recipes where you either love it or hate it, and it's pretty cheap to make so if you don't like it, you won't lose that much money for the effort. I subbed egg beaters for the eggs and I used International Delight Suisse Mocha for the instant coffee. I will definitely make this again, since even though I'm not gluten free, I am on a high fiber diet. And beans are a great source of fiber...and gas so don't eat the whole pan at once! lol Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Ok, I was skeptical. But this was actually pretty good. I read some reviews before making this, and the only change was that I added 1/2 tsp each of baking soda and baking powder. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States