Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This soup is one of the best black bean soups I have ever eaten! I made the recipe as written except I used chicken broth and added one can of beans unprocessed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Excellent recipe and very filling. Served with corn bread and husband who is a meat lover really enjoyed this soup. One tip that saved time was using an immersion blender. Every thing in one pot??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
This has got to be the Holy Grail of Recipes. It's fast, easy, cheap, healthy, delicious, and generated maybe 10 dishes. I'm in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I'm giving this recipe 5 starts because its simplicity is unprecedented! And it tasted great! I also added some oregano and chili flakes for some more flavour, also I used greek style sour cream for extra protein. Did not disappoint :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungrymartialartist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Good if you add twice the beans or half the salsa. I made it as directed, but it tasted to much like runny salsa. I added and blended another can of beans, a bit more cumin and broth and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Listerud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This is great as is plus it's really easy to modify. The only change I made initially was to use no salt chicken stock instead of vegetable broth. The next time around I added 1 additional can of black beans which I reserved until I pureed everything else (I added a bit more stock, salsa & cumin to compensate for the additional volume). The third time around I added some diced ham and the last time some diced chicken plus I used a fresh, refrigerated salsa. Simple as can be to make and turns out fantastic each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Awesome! Used a chipolte pepper in adobe sauce to spice it up a little. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I have low sodium needs, so used no sodium vegetable broth and found a low sodium salsa brand as well. This reduced the sodium quite a bit. I didn't use sour cream either. I always rinse canned beans three times which takes quite a bit more sodium out of them as well. I think this soup is delicious. It is hearty and filling and tasty and super, super easy to make. I love it and it will be a favorite in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I will definitely make this again, but I think I will reduce the amount of salsa used as I found the taste too acidic (of course this will vary by which brand of salsa that you use). After tasting it I did add garlic. The sour cream really does add to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This soup is amazing!!!!! Especially if you take BANSREEPARIKH's tip of tripling the cumin, adding fresh lime juice and cilantro. It makes a world of a difference making it tatse fresh and more homemade. I've made it every week for the past 3 weeks. Everyone that's had some keeps asking when I'll be making more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States