Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Mads as is and it was not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Pathetically easy. Really. If you like your soup smooth, follow the recipe. If you want some whole beans floating around (like a lot of folks do), add a can or two of rinsed black beans. Easy peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Tasty and easy recipe. Throw it in a blender and then heat it up. Recipes don't get much easier. Thank you. I did not have two cans of black beans, so I used one can of black beans and one can of red kidney beans. I like garlic a lot and add it to practically all soup recipes, so I added 1 tbsp minced garlic. I also added 1 tbsp of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David DeBoer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
So easy to throw together with items already in the pantry! I didn't have any salsa the day I made the soup so I used a can of Ro-Tel and chicken stock in place of the vegetable stock. We had some leftover cooked brown rice and added that as well to make a really delicious & hearty soup for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I really liked this soup but I would make some changes... I think its too thin as it is.. either use less broth or add more beans. Also, I added cilantro and sweet peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Yum! Substituted chicken broth for veggie broth. We enjoyed this very much! And it's good for you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I added some jalapenos that I had canned over the summer and it gave it a great kick! So EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I really enjoyed this but I also added the juice from one lime and garlic salt. This really could have used some crunch so the next time I will likely add some corn and possibliy an extra can of whole black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I loved how easy this was to make!! A couple of strong suggestions: 1. Add a chipotle in adobe sauce to give it a nice smoky flavor 2. Quadruple the beans! I smushed up 2 cans of beans with my blender and then added another 30 ounce can of black beans to give it texture. 3. Add ANY leftover meat you have, ie. chicken, steak, hamburger meat, to give it that extra richness. 4. Add garlic, lots of extra cumin and lime juice. 5. Garnish with plenty of cilantro, sour cream, green onions and crunched up tortilla chips 6. Double the recipe or you will be just doing it again the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This soup was great! I saved a third of the beans and put them in whole. Also, I cut the salsa amount down a third, but could hardly even tell it was there. Next time I will use the whole amount. Fast and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States