Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This was an amazingly easy recipe that only took 5 minutes to prepare, with minimal ingredients, and it came out absolutely delicious. Even my husband enjoyed this and that says a lot! I did two things differently from the recipe which included adjusting the salt usage. How much salt you add is up to your personal preference. One really important thing I did differently from this recipe was to only process ¾ of the beans adding the rest in with the mixture in the sauce pan. Along with the green onions, this will give your soup texture. The sour cream will provide additional creaminess at the end. If you are looking for a quick, easy, and cheap soup recipe that is really tasty, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Was super easy with immersion blender, served on top of seasoned rice was yummy, simple, and pretty healthy. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by destiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This recipe is amazing as is. My whole family loves it, including my 2 year old. I use this soup as a base, and to make it really filling, after scooping it into each bowl, I add 1/2 - 1 whole avocado per bowl, some chopped cilantro, tortilla chips and sour cream. It makes this soup beyond delicious and really knocks it out of the park. My husband likes to add cheese to his as well. I've considered blending avocado and cilantro right into the soup, but haven't tried it yet. I like the chunks the cut up avocado adds to the dish when added after the soup is blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This made a good base, but I had my son (who is a HS culinary student) play with it and add some spices (salt, pepper, paprika, crushed red pepper, chili powder & onion powder) to make it more flavorful. He suggested adding 1/2 an onion the next time. I will definitely make it again with his suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
We totally loved this! I added some of the things other reviewers did like a splash of sherry, garlic powder, onions and corn. But it was so easy to do. This is a real keeper. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Delicious! Per other reviewers, I sautéed some minced garlic and onions and added it to the blender. I only puréed one can of beans and added the other one whole. I used ckn broth instead of veg. Fresh cilantro is a must! Served with cheese quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This was very good. I followed a couple of the suggestions and added sautéed onions and garlic and a bit of sherry. Other than that I kept the recipe the same. Very nice soup that is quite versatile and could not be simpler. My 12 year old son liked it with tortilla chips. I ate it with warm, crusty bread as did my husband. And my husband loved it so much he asked me if I could make it often. BTW, I found canned black beans that had less sodium than the majority of black beans and I used low sodium vegetable broth. Still very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
absolutely fab! I added 2 onions and 3 cloves or garlic to simmer first.... then the rest. easy, yummy and delish. add some cilantro to seal the deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Wonderful as written. Also great to improvise and use what you have on hand. Today I used Costco's Mango Peach Salsa. It gave it a sweet flavor, but still a nice gentle kick. Immersion "stick" blender is so great to get it to a smooth, yet bit of textured consistency. Just blend to the texture of your liking. Sometimes I have also added carrots and corn. Even creamed corn worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I used a hot salsa and replaced the cumin with chili powder. It turned out great and will be a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States