Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
So easy and I used low-sodium broth and NSA beans and thought it was still plenty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Herman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This is a fast and filling soup! I made a few alterations: added extra beans and chicken broth--we are a family of 5 and 4 servings just won't cut it around here. I sauteed one finely diced onion and 3 large cloves of garlic and added it to the beans and salsa. We like a bit of heat (even the 6 year old) so we used hot salsa. In addition to the cumin I added 1 TBSP of chili powder, 1 TSP of Hershey's cocoa, and a teaspoon of my secret weapon--pureed chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. I always keep a jar of this in my fridge--it gives a real jolt of flavor to anything Mexican that you make. Just open the can, run the whole thing through the blender, put it in a small jar and stash in your fridge. We sliced up 1 pound of chorizo sausage to make it substantial enough for a main course. Yummo! We served it topped with broken tortilla chips, a sprinkle of shredded cheddar cheese and a dollop of sour cream. Rave reviews all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Schaffner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Easy, fast and flavorful. I used low sodium beans and low sodium chicken broth. I knew 2 cans of beans would not be enough, but I didn't have a third. Blended drained dark red kidney beans with one of the cans of black beans. Then added the other can of whole black beans to the pot. The cumin added to the flavor. It needed bit more chicken broth, but my husband who eats almost anything but rarely comments on it, said he'd like to have this again soon. When the beans go on sale I will stock up and triple this recipe so I can have enough left to put in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I made this recipe as a quick addition to a lite supper. The only thing I added was hot sauce. Super easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
My husband loved this and good way to add more beans to your diet! I used the chicken broth and saved 1/2 cup beans to add back as was suggested. I also used a mild salsa and a dash of garlic powder. I buy a "seasoned" black bean instead of plain,(don't think they will let me say the brand) which may have more flavor, even rinsed, than plain canned black beans. If I had some available, I would have loved adding some cilantro to the garnish but it was excellent the way it was. This is going to be a regular in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Hooper
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I have just tried this recipe it is soooo delicious I too sauted some onions and red bell pepper & garlic to a pan with a little sofrito added seasonings, and followed the recipe as written this will be one of my go to fast soups for friends and family, I am seriously thinking of making some corn bread now lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ailse
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I made this soup for my family, but I tweaked the recipe just a bit, I added one Serrano Chili chopped fine, and one Jalapeno Chili chopped fine(if you don't want the heat remove the seeds and white membrane) I also added half a cup of frozen corn, and a splash of lime. I served it with a few crushed corn chips on top and grated sharp cheese, along with a dollop of sour cream. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eatwell
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Left over about cup of beans and added to soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I tossed the convenience as I had a half bag of Black Turtle Beans in the cupboard when I saw this recipe yesterday. The beans were far more than planned so the batch got doubled (I actually blended half at a time). I used chili powder instead of cumin and chicken broth vs. vegetable, just finished having the soup for lunch ... YUM!!! Lots of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
What a great basic recipe. I read through a few reviews and tried the cooked shredded chicken with this as I prefer a little more protein. Also used plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream and held out a 1/3 c. of the black beans until after blending (used immersion blender) to add some texture. Also added some additional spice - extra cumin (1 tsp ea.), cilantro, chipotle chile powder, smoked paprika and about 1 tsp cocoa powder and a little more unblended salsa. This was so delicious and will now be a "go-to" recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States