Black Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
I love it.........I am a vegitarian & have had lots of difficulties finding recipes I like....This one is an A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I love this recipe! It's nutritious and easy! What more could you want?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I left out the corn and basil because I didn't have them on hand. But the recipe was still so delicious! I also used 6" flour tortillas and made little roll-ups with the filling. Hats off to the reader who suggested Frank's Red Hot sauce. It was the perfect compliment to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkeyleigh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Very flavorful. It includes many ingredients that taste great together. We really enjoyed this dish and found that it made enough for 10 people as a side dish. My daughter said that it would be great to take to her school picnic. You could even add cubed, cooked chicken to it to make it an easy, complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I've tried a similar recipe without the rice, but thought I'd try this one. I didn't use the juice from either the beans or the corn (as I used frozen corn), but just followed the directions for the rice. I also used fresh cilantro. This recipe has an amazing flavor! It's a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I really enjoyed this recipe. However, I didn't see the point in all that liquid to cook the rice. I think a ratio of 1 part rice 2 part liquid is just fine. I reduced the amount of lemon juice to less than 1/2 cup. Tommorrow, I will add fresh cilantro to it and see how that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
this is very good for a summer side with grilled chicken! adjust the heat to your taste. i think it is better if you make this a day ahead and when serving splash some red wine vinegar and toss with green onions. very tasty indeed. thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Really liked it. Just made a few changes. I cut out 1/2 of the lemon juice. I used fresh cilantro and threw in some pineapple tidbids. The whole family ate it, which is rare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is very good and meets the healthy eating criteria of my son's diet. Thank you for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe!! So refreshing and a great side BBQ dish, actually, it can go with anything. Next time I'll use fresh basil and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States