Black Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This is tasty, nutritious, and filling - the food trifecta in my book. I drained the beans and corn, since I was working with fully-cooked (non-instant) brown rice. I left out the jalapenos since I don't care for that taste and added a couple of stalks of celery to the onion saute. I also found that it didn't need salt. It was delicious as-is, as well as sprinkled with Frank's Red Hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I really enjoyed this recipe. However, I didn't see the point in all that liquid to cook the rice. I think a ratio of 1 part rice 2 part liquid is just fine. I reduced the amount of lemon juice to less than 1/2 cup. Tommorrow, I will add fresh cilantro to it and see how that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I've tried a similar recipe without the rice, but thought I'd try this one. I didn't use the juice from either the beans or the corn (as I used frozen corn), but just followed the directions for the rice. I also used fresh cilantro. This recipe has an amazing flavor! It's a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Very flavorful. It includes many ingredients that taste great together. We really enjoyed this dish and found that it made enough for 10 people as a side dish. My daughter said that it would be great to take to her school picnic. You could even add cubed, cooked chicken to it to make it an easy, complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
This was a pretty good recipe. All the liquid for the rice really wasn't necessary, in fact it made my rice turn out kinda mushy. I served the meal a little different - I heated the entire mixture for a few minutes in a pan until it was warm, then I placed it in whole wheat tortillas with cheese and fresh avocado. It turned out great that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
For me the rice cooked up too wet even though I used less olive oil. I think I would cook the rice with only the corn juice next time, and cut back on the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Very, very tasty recipe. I made a few changes to use ingredients I had on hand...I was out of corn in every form, so I put some green pepper in instead. I think the corn would have been better, but the green pepper added a nice color and flavor. I also changed the prep method a bit, since I had no instant brown rice on hand. Instead, I just cooked regular brown rice, mixed in the vegetables, didn't save the drained juice, and just threw all the raw ingredients together. It's a lot easier to make this way, and it really tastes great. I put the rice in warm, and it worked well this way...I think the warmth brought out the flavors of the vegetables and herbs. I also used fresh herbs. Thanks for sharing the recipe...it's wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is a great recipe! I didn't save the liquid from the beans though, instead of fresh tomatos I used a can of stewed tomatos and saved the liquid from that to use. Also I used fresh cilantro (I never use dried) and white rice because I didn't have brown. VERY VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
I love it.........I am a vegitarian & have had lots of difficulties finding recipes I like....This one is an A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
While this dish was quick and easy to prepare, I thought the results weren't very tasty. The flavor of the black beans was overpowering, and although I enjoy black beans in chili and other dishes, I did not like them in this one at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States