Black Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was pretty good. I was making zucchini herb casserole and started the red bell pepper, onion and garlic when I realized that my zucchini wasn't any good. So I jumped on here and searched the ingredients that I had and found this, the only thing I didn't have was the corn. The next day I added this to some queso dip and it was sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I loved this salad. I didn't read the recipe through before making, and didn't have time to let the rice cool very long, so, it was slightly warm. Still great! Can't wait to taste tomorrow when fully chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNBKLADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
this is very good for a summer side with grilled chicken! adjust the heat to your taste. i think it is better if you make this a day ahead and when serving splash some red wine vinegar and toss with green onions. very tasty indeed. thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is very good and meets the healthy eating criteria of my son's diet. Thank you for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Really good and easy to make. I left out the tomatoes and cilantro and added left over sloppy joe meat and lots of tabasco. I wrapped up in tortillas and freezed for my lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Very good and very healthy! I cut down the lemon juice a little bit, didn't use the liquid from the beans or the corn, and used an Uncle Ben's brown and wild rice mix I had in the cupboard. We loved it. Next time I'll slice up some grilled chicken and add it to the mix. Thanks for a great summertime meal idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Well, with the combination of black beans, rice, and corn, it seemed that this could hardly miss. But miss it did, at least at our house. The problem is all that lemon juice. It makes a bitter concoction of what would otherwise be a nice combination of ingredients. It is undeniably nutritious, but that was it's only redeeming quality for us. It makes a ton, which is sad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I left out the corn and basil because I didn't have them on hand. But the recipe was still so delicious! I also used 6" flour tortillas and made little roll-ups with the filling. Hats off to the reader who suggested Frank's Red Hot sauce. It was the perfect compliment to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkeyleigh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is a great recipe! I didn't save the liquid from the beans though, instead of fresh tomatos I used a can of stewed tomatos and saved the liquid from that to use. Also I used fresh cilantro (I never use dried) and white rice because I didn't have brown. VERY VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I had a bunch of pico de gallo left over from a party, so I subbed that for the first several ingredients, as they were similar. I also skipped the onion saute step (there was plenty of onion in the pico)and just threw the corn and beans in a bowl with my freshly cooked (non instant) brown rice. The onion WAS a bit strong, but it was delish in a tortilla w/avocado, as recommended in another review. It was pretty good as I made it, and I managed to use the leftovers creatively to make some AWESOME soup!! (just cook a few chicken legs with chopped garlic in a few cups of chicken broth, and throw in leftover rice salad. serve with chopped avocado, jalapenos, and tortilla chips to top. YUM)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latsyrc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States