Black Bean and Rice Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Pretty great vegetarian enchiladas! The only comments I have are that I really prefer a saucier enchilada, so I would probably sauce it up with a traditional enchilada sauce not just topped with salsa next time. And, I ended up having to use two pans, because I could only fit 5 in my pan. When I rolled them tighter, too much of the filling fell out of the ends. This is not a quick meal because the brown rice takes so much time to cook, but it makes a large amount, so I could easily make this on an evening when I have a bit more time, to eat on a night that I don't. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
We LOVE this recipe. I think it'd be great as is, but I have made a few adjustments to make it healthier and vegan, to suit our tastes. Instead of olive oil, I cook the veggies in step 2 in veg broth. I added a chopped zucchini to that step and halve the rice to make up for it. I lined the tortilla with baby spinach before adding the mixture. I skip the cheese totally and top it with chopped cabbage. I use enchilada sauce instead of salsa. It makes a TON, so it's worth the time it takes to make this dish. It's not difficult to make, you just have to plan ahead to have it ready by the time you need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonyia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Increased cheese to two cups and just used my favorite enchilada sauce instead. Great for meatless Monday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Very good and relatively easy. I made some adjustments to handle little kid taste buds-- reduced the spices and added 1c corn to the mix. I used enchilada sauce on the side for the adults and just used cheese on the kid side in the baking dish. A hit for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
These were awesome!!! My whole family loved them and asked for more. The only change I made was instead of brown rice I used quinoa. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
good stuff!! my kids fought over who would take the last one for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made this last night and they were excellent. I did a couple of thing different, I used homemade Cuban style black beans, used both green and yellow bells. I omitted the spices and rotel (cuban black beans has the same seasonings) added queso fresca with the cheddar. I had enough for a pan of flour and a pan of corn tortillas. I topped both with homemade enchilada sauce, more cheddar and queso fresca. Simply wonderful with a tangy slaw on top. I can tell with the recipe would be just as good as written, it is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil'MadSavy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Enchilada sauce on top, no rice. Used 1.5 cups of dried black beans for economy/health/flavor (no added salt and therefore no need to rinse, so you get more flavor). Fit about 1/3 cup filling in each one, then sprinkled cheese and wrapped it up. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I just made this tonight but I had to cut way down on the spices and picante sauce. Other than that, this was the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I made this as the vegatarian filling for our Black Friday Taco bar at work and everyone really enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States