Black Bean and Rice Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Pretty great vegetarian enchiladas! The only comments I have are that I really prefer a saucier enchilada, so I would probably sauce it up with a traditional enchilada sauce not just topped with salsa next time. And, I ended up having to use two pans, because I could only fit 5 in my pan. When I rolled them tighter, too much of the filling fell out of the ends. This is not a quick meal because the brown rice takes so much time to cook, but it makes a large amount, so I could easily make this on an evening when I have a bit more time, to eat on a night that I don't. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Increased cheese to two cups and just used my favorite enchilada sauce instead. Great for meatless Monday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
We LOVE this recipe. I think it'd be great as is, but I have made a few adjustments to make it healthier and vegan, to suit our tastes. Instead of olive oil, I cook the veggies in step 2 in veg broth. I added a chopped zucchini to that step and halve the rice to make up for it. I lined the tortilla with baby spinach before adding the mixture. I skip the cheese totally and top it with chopped cabbage. I use enchilada sauce instead of salsa. It makes a TON, so it's worth the time it takes to make this dish. It's not difficult to make, you just have to plan ahead to have it ready by the time you need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonyia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
good stuff!! my kids fought over who would take the last one for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
These were awesome!!! My whole family loved them and asked for more. The only change I made was instead of brown rice I used quinoa. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I didn't use salsa, red pepper flakes, green chiles or picante sauce (preference) I added sour cream on top along with diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Though this is a bit labor-intensive -- it's well worth it! I used two (seeded) jalapeno peppers and only half the green pepper, just for a bit more 'spice.' I was more generous with the cheese, using mild cheddar, probably over two cups finally. I mixed cilantro in with the bean mixture, as it's one of my favorite flavors. Everyone loved the casserole -- our triplet teen vegetarians as well as my wife and me. Served it with sour cream, salsa, and guacamole. Thanks, Di, and all who commented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
We really liked this! I made it exactly as written with the exception that I added a can of enchilada sauce to the top prior to putting them in the oven. It made 1 9x13 pan plus about 6 more in another pan! I put the left overs in the freezer for another day. Two thumbs up from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
We LOVED this recipe. My daughter who is a vegetarian claimed that these were the best enchiladas she ever ate. We made two batches, added chicken to one. Because of the chicken, that batch made double than the recipe stated. Takes a little time to make, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflower25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I made this as the vegatarian filling for our Black Friday Taco bar at work and everyone really enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States