Black Bean and Rice Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melody Sahin
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Added a can of diced tomatoes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Sahin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I halved the spices after reading reviews, but my family still found the flavors overwhelming and not pleasing at all. Even my easy-going husband wasn't a fan. Sorry, love to try new things but this was not a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Hubby loves this recipe and has requested it many times. It makes a great meatless meal while still delivering on the protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flamborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I tried this tonight and my family loved it. My children were asking for more. Will Make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikalicous2004

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Mixed bag. I made this recipe as written except left out the cayenne pepper because my nieces are very sensitive to "spicy" food (5 and 10 years) and super picky eaters. All the kids scarfed down the food and loved it. I thought they were okay. a little weird but still good and I would probably make them again however my husband hated them. he didn't like them at all. He kept asking what spices I used and when I told him he said that for him it was the cloves and nutmeg that "ruined" the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Great recipe! I doubled the beans, added 3 small diced sweet peppers, and used 1 can of organic diced tomatoes rather than 8 oz of tomato sauce. I kept spice proportions the same- and for a spice sensitive family with kiddos- it was perfect. I melted a tiny bot of shredded Mexican cheese in the warmed tortillas before filling with rice and bean mixture -and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
We loved this recipe and will make it again. It does have heat but I was able to tolerate it well. I was surprised to see the cloves and nutmeg but it added a nice flavor to the beans. If you like some heat, make it as stated...nice blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? Rachel Kooistra Floyd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I would consider this a level 3.5 spicy,it was pretty warm. The nutmeg and cloves added some dimension so it wasn't just "hot" it had good flavor. So good with some guac, lettuce, and tomatoes on a tortilla. I really liked it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Well, This was a waste of what could have been a good meal. Have had this recipe for a while and was in the mood for burritos, WAY TO SPICY. Not done yet, will try with half the spice and work from there till I find the right formula. I am sure that it will be a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I loved this recipe! I did a few things differently though. 1) I only used 1/2 cup of rice because I didn't want to overwhelm the burrito with rice, 2) I used a regular onion because I didn't have a sweet yellow onion 3) I skipped out on the cayenne powder and nutmeg because I didn't have any, 4) I added about 1-2 tsp of taco seasoning and 1-2 of taco sauce just to give it a bit of a Mexican kick, 5) of course added some salt, and 6) I mixed the rice into the bean sauce and then spooned it onto the tortillas. So yummy and so satisfying! I loved it! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States