Black Bean and Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by shasty
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Bright flavor and beautiful presentation. I doubled the dressing and used a box of Far East parmesan couscous. I'm not sure if I overcooked the couscous or letting it sit over night caused the couscous to have a bit of a gummy texture. Also I only had one can of black beans so I used a can of ark red kidney beans for my second can. This was really good and a perfect summer salad to go with your grilling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Good. I think it could use a little more of the lime juice or vinegar. It was good, but a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
As for others, this was a good starting point for me. Based on other reviews, I added a minced jalapeño and some cayenne to the dressing since I like a little kick! I also halved the recipe (its just me) but adjusted the bean and corn amounts to use up the leftovers I had on hand. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Love this healthy salad & its great for summer lunches! Instead of couscous, I used bulgur and quinoa mix from Worlds Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Liked it.Great side to the garlic lime chicken recipe. Very light dinner for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Delish! My 8 year old loves this. I doubled the dressing and it is a must. We added some chicken breast seasoned with New Orleans Seasoning. This was my first time cooking couscous and just when I thought the broth wasn't going to be absorbed, it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Great flavors, I made this as another reviewer suggested as side to the Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken. Superb choice. I would recommend using a good, flavorful extra virgin olive oil, as it comes through very well with the red pepper, lime and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I liked it and will probably make it again. I modified. I did not have red wine vinegar. I used 2 tsp Shiraz and 2 tsp balsamic vinegar. The salad lacked oomph, but was tasty. Will try again with more modifications. Note: I did take advice of previous posters and doubled olive oil, cumin, lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I love all of the healthy benefits that this recipe has to offer! Unfortunately, my whole family (including myself) found this recipe very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Doubled the liquids as other reviews stated. Not too powerful, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 826) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States