Black Bean and Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was a very last minute meal so I didn't have a lot of the ingredients, but my husband and I still loved it! I think the trick was that I substituted italian dressing for the olive oil and lime juice. I used red cooking wine instead of vinegar, and as someone else suggested, cumin and parsley for cilantro (although if I plan better next time, cilantro is yummy). One can of beans was more than enough. I also didn't have any green onions or corn and it still turned out fabulous. For someone who previously was not a fan of couscous, I will be making this again (and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Use leftovers in fish tacos as a salsa type addition. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Excellent as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dr. p

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Yum! Added parm cheese, but only used 3/4 can of beans. 2 cans would have been way too much. Only used 1/2 bag of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This is a great recipe. It's easy and quick. I used fresh corn, cannelini beans in addition to black beans, and mint and parsley instead of cilantro. I followed other reviewers advice and doubled the dressing recipe. I ended up using 1.5 the of the doubled dressing. The salad is great the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Delicious. Double the sauce. Used Balsamic vinegar because I did not have Red wine vinegar, worried but it turned out great. Quick and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
As written I give it 4 stars as the dressing didn't seem to be enough. I doubled the dressing and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was a big hit at a recent dinner party. Plus it made great leftovers -- it tasted even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was fabulous!! I used fewer green onions (as in 2 Tbl.) - just a personal preference, 1/8 tsp. salt + 1/8 tsp. pepper. To save time, I used a can of corn (drained). The dressing measurements were perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
A big 5 star review for this recipe!! I made it last weekend, doubled the dressing, and kept everything else as per the recipe. Delish!!! Husband raved about it, so much that I will be making it again this weekend! Will include some fresh jalapeno this time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 844) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States