Black Bean and Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Delicious!!!! Followed recipe except doubled the dressing (except oil). AMAZING!!! Used Israeli couscous and I loved the textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chisago City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This salad is so delicious and a great summer time cook out salad due to there not being any mayonnaise or eggs. The ratio of cous cous to stock was perfect, as well as the ratio of salad ingredients to dressing. I did sub out the lemon juice for lime and also added a bit of zest. didn't bother with the vinegar and just added extra lemon juice. replaced a can of black beans with chic peas. a few tomatoes and green olives. This would serve as an excellent base for a more Mediterranean flair by subbing the cilantro with parsley, and the cumin with mint. thanks so much for this recipe that is sure to be a repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Have made many times as written and love it. This time, only used 1 can of beans, 2 T of olive oil, and doubled the lime juice, vinegar and cumin. Still SOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Simple and tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Babcock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I have to admit that I didn't use couscous because I didn't have any ... subbed pearl barley but I don't think it changes this salad significantly to not give it a 5 star rating. Other than the barley, I made the salad exactly as stated. I served it with Cumin Rubbed Chicken with Avocado Salsa ... great combination for a summer's evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This one gets mixed reviews. I personally didn't think the flavors meshed. However 1/2 my family thought it was fantastic and requested me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Loved it. Very quick and easy for a easy summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I love this recipe. It has become a staple in my weekly meals. The flavors just work really well together.. And I followed the recipe exactly as written. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
MISSING ONLY ONE THING!! We really enjoyed this recipe-my teenagers came to love it. I made a 9X13 full of it which is what double the recipe makes (I brought it to a party). I did make double the sauce, but added it at the end to taste. So I didn't use it all. The one thing I added which really made this dish spectacular was crumbled Feta cheese! I mixed just a bit in, then put it all over the top. AMAZING!My teens have requested I make this next time we have soft tacos, to go with the other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This is my favorite couscous recipe of all. I have made this many times now and have tweaked the recipe to personal perfection. I use 1 1/2 cups Israeli couscous and only one can of black beans. I also use a full tsp. of cumin and use 1 tsp. red wine vinegar and 2 tsp. balsamic vinegar. Other than that the rest of the ingredients are perfect as written for my taste. I like to make it in advance and let it chill in the fridge before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 855) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States