Black Bean and Corn Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Loved it and will definitely make it again! Took lots of tips from other reviewers such as upping the lime, cutting back on the oil as well as how much the dressing changes when sitting over night. So, since I was making it just for me, I kept the dressing in a container and added as I ate it which kept the flavors bright and fresh. Also, one clove of garlic isn't enough and it could even use more cayenne. Oh, and I also added the avocado as I went so it didn't get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Loved this...but far too much dressing. I will reduce the amount of olive oil next time and it will be perfect. A great, fresh dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Made 1/2 recipe. This was really good! I loved the lime dressing. I had key lime juice so that's what I used. I didn't have black beans so I used white beans. I used leftover corn on the cob. No red pepper, I was out. And no cayenne, as my family doesn't like things too spicy. This was good with corn chips and just as good eaten right off the spoon. It was even better the next day-and I added another 1/2 avocado and a squirt of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Delicious. I used the juice of one lime (easier than measuring out 1/3 cup and omitted the avocado since it wouldn't keep for long).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Simple and delicious. You can't make it ahead of time very effectively because the dressing separates some and a lot of liquid settles out. I need to think about the best way to handle that situation. Also, I prepared the avocado ahead and put lime on it so it didn't brown BUT I didn't add it until just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Used corn cut off cob. Cut dressing in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I could eat this every day great with grilled meats, A wonderful dish to pass, take along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Loved it! Just added more chili pepper, salt and lemon! Mixed everything and then let it sit a couple hours chillin'. Add the avocado right before serving, so it does not get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Efinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This was D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S!! Thanks you! Very light for 120 degree phoenix summer day and full of flavor (combo of lime juice, garlic and OO is great!) We paired it up with grilled chicken and grilled pineapple. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Wonderful!! As other reviewers suggested, I cut the oil in half = good call. In order to avoid any mushiness other reviewers mentioned, I rinsed the tomatoes after dicing to get rid of any extra juice, and I added the avocado within an hour of serving. No mushiness (though I might just have been extra thorough and mushiness wouldn't have been a problem anyway)! I also used half red pepper and half orange, just for the additional color. Delicious!! Brought to a baked potato bar dinner at friends and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 971) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States