Black Bean and Corn Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
OMG - really, really delicious!! I doubled this recipe to take to a cookout. I used only 1/3 cup oil (as stated in this recipe the oil would be WAY too much) and 1/3 cup fresh lime juice. I used 8 ears of fresh corn and 3 cans of black beans. I also used red onion very finely diced in place of the green onion. I kept the salt to 1 tsp despite doubling the recipe. Left out the cilantro. Finally, I took several reviewers' suggestions to increase the garlic (used 4 cloves), add 1 tsp cumin and to use halved grape tomatoes. It was beautiful, healthy and got rave reviews. The avocado does get squishy and brown as do the tomatoes so it is best to make this the day you will serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This salad was a huge hit, easy to make and exceptionally tasty. The lime dressing was the kicker. My guests asked me for the recipe. Kudos! I have had a lot of black bean salads but this one will surely go to the top of my list. I'm not a pepper girl, so I omitted those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Amazing! It just tastes so summery and fresh! I took other reviewers advice and used less olive oil. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
If I could recommend just one recipe ever, it would be this one. This salad is unbelievably delicious, I have made it many times and will make it many more. I sometimes vary the quantities of the ingredients but it comes out perfect each time. The cilantro and lime juice are key. I eat it as a salad but have also used it as an accompaniment to nachos (like salsa). Once I added it to chicken pieces and sour-cream in tortillas to make a burrito of sorts (used a slotted spoon to drain most of the liquids). This salad is so, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was really good. I used fresh/organic ingredients like an ear of corn as a opposed to the frozen corn and I used less oil than the recipe required. Came out perfect. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is one of the BEST recipes I have ever had. I don't use oil at all...I simply don't drain the tomatoes, (I use Rotel), I don't use salt at all. I use fresh lime juice and some Adobe. Fresh lime juice and cilantro makes the difference in this recipe. I hope all who try this enjoy the recipe. I enjoy it more the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Excellent, made as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
We LOVED it! I think it is going to become a staple in my fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaelynnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Perfect for parties as a salsa with chips or as a BBQ side dish. My guests love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Positively ambrosial! We can't get enough of this fresh, flavorful salad--it's that good. Perfect alongside BBQ, grilled or roasted meats, or sandwiches. Also tastes great whether dressing is added in advance or just before serving. (You might try cutting the olive oil in half. Saves calories, and you can't tell the difference.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 941) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States