Black Bean and Corn Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Very tasty! After trying this recipe a few times I cut the oil in half, omit tomatoes, double bell pepper, and add an extra half cup of corn. You only need one medium lime to get enough juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Before I begin, I confess I did not use any olive oil. I was intending to put it in grilled burritos/wraps, so I figured the lime juice and other ingredients would be good enough without making it so runny that the wrap was messy. That being said here is how I prepared it - slightly mashed the 2 cans of beans, let the corn thaw before mixing in, used 2 avocados and 2 red peppers (ONLY because those in my store were very small), 2 tomatoes, 6-7 green onions - and instead of adding cayenne I diced a jalepeno pepper. I did include the fresh cilantro, plus a bit of black pepper, salt, garlic powder and cumin (because we like those flavors) - but not very much, I probably could have used more. So, there are a few differences, but if you compare, it is not too extreme. Anyway, after we had everything cut up evenly and mixed together I let it sit for no more than an hour while we did other things before I put some in a wheat tortilla with a bit of sour cream and cheese, then I grilled them on the stove. These are really, really good. It does seem a lot more like a 'salad' than any kind of wrap filling - I kind of want to just eat it plain or maybe with some chips - but it is really good when grilled, too. This recipe is awesome and I will be making many times. My previous black bean wrap filling is nothing in comparison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
My hubby and I can't stop eating this...not sure there will be any left over for supper! Lol I probably added double the lime and about half the oil. I eyeballed everything and it was sooooo amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I makes this weekly, my husband likes it so much I have to make double batches. Great served with fish tacos, chicken, or as a appetizer with tortilla chips, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Yum!! Made for a family meal to go with beef and rice enchiladas. Perfect! Based on some of the reviews I read, I used less oil. I did equal parts lime juice and olive oil. And in place of the cayenne, I used half a tsp of chili powder and half a tsp of cumin. Everyone loved it and we ate it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emsderfer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Great salad. If you are using canned beans it helps to rinse it first. I used dry cilantro in the salad dressing instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
We just had this on top of our fish tacos tonight. I thought it was very good and a little different from our usual toppings (because I was out of them). I used fresh lemon juice instead of lime, canned corn, and no red pepper - all because that is what I had. I added some oregano and ground cumin to the dressing to give it a little more flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This salad is fantastic! I have served at many occassions and there are never any leftovers! You can make ahead, but add the avacado when ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Needed a tad more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. It's very hot here and we love cold recipes! I made this recipe twice in one week, one for a family gathering where all of the leftovers were taken home by others, then again for us. I did not add cilantro (because it's the one thing I can't stand) and, the second time, I reduced the oil by 1/2 because I felt like it had too much juice (but it was great!). Turned out, I actually missed the extra flavor of the olive oil, so the next time I make it, I will go back to the full amount. The 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper did not keep my non-spicy eater from eating this. I recommended this recipe to a friend who said she added her avocado later but mine held up well being added in at the beginning. It did not become mushy. Thanks for the recipe, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 960) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States