Black Bean and Corn Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
So tasty! I didn't change a thing and got several requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is a mighty yummy salad! I made it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing! I know this will be a summer staple for us. Thanks for posting, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This was just OK for me. It needs more 'punch', like more lime or spice perhaps. I will probably make it again, but tweak the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I don't measure when I cook, but I used all of the suggested ingredients except the green onions because I was serving it to 3-5 year olds in addition to adults. Loved by all. I did add the cilantro. I used fresh corn, approximately 6 ears, that I boiled for 1-2 minutes then rinsed with cold water and cut from the cob. Wonderful for summer. Very colorful. I also used a pint of grape tomatoes that I sliced in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I made this salad for several events last summer and it was always a winner. It is colorful and looks beautiful on the table. I tried reducing the black beans to one can and it was even better. The lime juice and cilantro are essential to the great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
super! will make this over and over. I added avacardo chunks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
So delicious. The only change I made was to half the amount of olive oil. And I agree that fresh squeezed lime juice is a must. I could eat a big bowl of this as a meal. I served it as a side dish at a get-together, and most people ate this with tortilla chips. Although I had not intended for it to be an appetizer, it turned out to be the hit appetizer of the night. It was very good with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Everyone loved this salad. I used a can of corn, 1 can black beans, only 2 Tbsp olive oil, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 cup chopped cilantro. I left out the cayenne pepper. I was in a hurry and so instead of making the dressing separately I threw everything together and mixed it up. I did add the avocado at the end and gently mixed that in. I served this salad as a side dish and filling for 'Pico de Gallo Chicken Quesadillas.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
A fantastic recipe...thanks Jen. I'm a big fan of cumin, so add a bit, and stir in the tomatoes close to serving time. Also was inspired by a recent trip to Puerto Rico where I tasted something similar (but not quite as good), and used chopped fresh mangoes instead of tomatoes, which was a delicious version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Delicious! Must try with tortilla chips. Didn't care for the cilantro, but the rest was the perfect refreshing mix for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Browneyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 971) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States