Black Bean and Corn Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I also reduced the oil to 1/4 cup, increased the lime juice to 1/2 cup and added some ground cumin. I love the combination of lime, cilantro and cumin and have made a dressing (including honey) for coleslaw that I use to top fish tacos. When I made this salad I used two 14 oz cans of kernel corn, one 19 oz can of black beans. We were pleased with this ratio. Next time I think I will use 2 avocados. I also chopped one large tomato and substituted a large handful of grape tomatoes that I cut in half. I wanted to try red onion but could only get shallots and I added some sliced green onion stems for color. We really enjoyed the salad, the dressing had bold flavors but I felt like something was missing. Two cans of corn doubled the amount of corn called for but there was still enough dressing. Maybe next time I'll add some chili powder or maybe a squeeze of honey (although the sweetness of the corn might mean the honey would make it too sweet?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I've already made this twice in about 10 days and my kids want me to make it again! Need I say more..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRENNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Funny I've never called this a salad because this is my families favorite dip but I don't use the oil. I also like to add black eyed peas. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This is so delicious. Very easy to add or subtract ingredients to your taste. I do stir fry fresh corn for this recipe and that adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Have made it several times and really love it. I skip the salt and it is just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This was great!! I added cut up rotisserie chicken and then rolled it in butter lettuce leaves. A very healthy lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Had this salad at a Mexican potluck last Sunday and it was a great hit. NOW I have the recipe and believe me I will be making it soon and often. Sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I used less olive oil & lime juice for the dressing, as well as an extra clove of garlic and I still didn't use all of the dressing! I absolutely love the recipe though, it's delicious. I like mine better with fresh corn though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Loved this. Left out the avocado to avoid avocado moosh, and added chopped English cucumber to add some crunch. In consideration of Hubs' sensitive innards, I also omitted the cayenne. Can't imagine it would have made this any better anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great salad, I added some arugula. Will be a staple this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 953) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States